USC Industry Information Databases
Conferences and Conventions
These public sites can help find professional conferences and conventions for a wide range of industries:
Local Industry (1930)
Photograph of multiple factory workers completing a final inspection on tires, ca.1930 (Los Angeles). From the USC Digital Library.
Industry Research Tips
To understand a company an its competitors, you need to understand the industry of which it is a part, even if you are looking for information about a niche industry.
Finding information about an industry includes the following steps:
- Get an overview of the industry (market research, industry summaries)
- Look for articles on trends and see if you can find forecasts
- Gather statistics from government agencies and trade associations
- Contact trade associations for additional information about an industry
- Each information tool uses its own industry groupings and covers different industries. Data from one source may not match another resource, both in terms of data and definition of an industry.
- Small industries are often reported as part of larger industries in government data and other information sources. Look for targeted market research to address these markets
- Quality, availability and cost of association information varies widely. Some of it is only available to members, and some data can be free.
- Emerging industries can be difficult to research. Data may not be available and trends may not have been established.
USC Articles Databases
Financial Norms & Ratios
The following databases have financial norms and ratios by industry. Links to the databases can be found under USC Industry Information or Financial Information Databases in the left hand column
- eStatement Studies: Search by NAICS code or keyword search the name of an industry
- Factiva: Search 'Companies/Markets' for a Company profile which will contain a "Ratio Comparison" report
- Orbis: Search different ratio variables by industry
- ValueLine: Industry snapshots contain select ratios, click on 'Standard Edition" then 'Industry Look-Up'
- Hoovers: Contains comparative ratios for companies that are benchmarked against their primary industry as a whole
- Capital IQ (this is only accessible on a dedicated computer in Crocker Library): Search 'Markets' and select a broad industry descriptor; on the industry's profile page, look for 'Key Stats & Ratios'
See Crocker Library Industry Reference below for Reference materials
Crocker Library Industry Reference Books
Many resources use the Standard Industry Classification (SIC) codes that were developed to track data on American Industries. The codes were updated by a new systems called NAICS: the North American Industry Classification System, which includes the U.S., Canada and Mexico. However, many resources still use SIC codes as well. Pubic websites for SIC and/or NAICS codes are listed in the box below
Head, Crocker Business Library and Accounting Library
Crocker Business Library
USC Marshall School of Business
701 Hoffman Hall, HOH 201E
Government Industry Information including NAICS & SIC Codes
Find an Association - BCRC
Professional associations can be very helpful in learning more about an industry or profession. Although full access is often reserved for paid members, associations often provide information to the public in the form of summary reports press releases. Examples of professional associations include Advertising Professionals of Los Angeles, the American Society of Cinematographers, the American Medical Association and the California Solar Energy Industries Association to name just a few.
Follow the steps below to locate a professional association.
1. Go to the Business & Company Resource Center database
2. Select the button for "Advanced Search"
3. Go to the dropdown list for "Content Area" and select "Associations"
4. Enter your search terms based on the choices provided in the three dropdown lists. Try searching for a word that is found in the industry description or in the name of the association. Also, you may wish to specify "USA" in "Country" field or you will be searching for international associations as well. Try different combinations of search terms and keywords to find the association you need.
SEE SCREENSHOT BELOW