Skip to main content

French and Francophone Studies - A Research Guide to Resources: Dictionaries

This guide provides an overview of resources in French and Francophone Studies. It can be used in tandem with research guides specifically created in support of courses offered in the French curriculum.

Online Dictionaries - Words and Terminology

PORTALS:

Dictionnaires spécialisés français. (Université de Sherbrooke). A portal to a large number of dictionaries in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 

Leximagne.  An "exhaustive collection of nearly 800 electronic French dictionaries, glossaries and wordlists" from "TennesseeBob's famous French links".

Répertoires de sites (Université de Sherbrooke): A portal to online dictionaries and encyclopedias,

FRENCH LANGUAGE AND IDIOMS:

Dictionnaire d'expressions idiomatiques.  Ce dictionnaire présente une organisation en système d’hypertexte de 3918 expressions idiomatiques (EIs) usuelles (2459 en français de France et 1459 en portugais brésilien) http://www.cnrtl.fr/dictionnaires/expressions_idiomatiques/

Dictionnaire de la langue française http://www.linternaute.com/dictionnaire/fr/  

Grand dictionnaire terminologique. (Office québécois de la langue française)

Larousse - Dictionnaire de Français 

Trésor de la Langue Française informatisé. (Université de Lorraine)

Online Dictionaries - Multilingual

ARTFL French-English/English-French dictionary

Dictionnaires de langues  (Université de Sherbrooke) A portal to multilingual dictionaries.

Définitions & traductions avec Alexandria (TV5Monde)   "Traducteur multilingue".

Dictionnaire multilingue (bab.la).  "bab.la est un portail des langues en ligne dans plusieurs langues, allant des expressions familières et régionales aux vocabulaire technique ou appartenant à un champ lexical particulier."

Larousse - Dictionnaires bilingues.

WordReference.com

Dictionaries within ARTFL and Classiques Garnier Collection

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language).  A compendium of French texts, mostly from the Renaissance-20th century.

Dictionnaires d'autrefois (ARTFL).  French dictionaries of the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.  Includes: Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue françoyse, tant ancienne que moderne;  Jean-François Féraud's Dictionaire critique de la langue française (1787-1788);  Dictionnaire de l'Académie française [versions of the first (1694), 4th (1762), 5th (1798), 6th (1835), and 8th (1932-5) editions.];  Émile Littré's Dictionnaire de la langue française.

ARTFL Reference Collection. Includes dictionaries (from various periods, ranging from 1552 to the early 1900s) and Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie.

IN CLASSIQUES GARNIER:

Dictionnaire historique de l'ancien langage français depuis son origine jusqu'au siècle de Louis XIV.  (Click on "Accès aux bases de données"). "Le Dictionnaire historique de l'ancien langage français de La Curne de Sainte-Palaye est «un instrument de travail irremplaçable pour une étude approfondie du vocabulaire de l'ancien langage» (Gilles Roussineau). Un complément indispensable au Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du 9e au 15e siècle de Frédéric Godefroy et au Dictionnaire de la langue française du 16e siècle de Edmond Huguet."

Print Dictionaries at USC

Le grand Robert de la langue française (c2001), vol. 1-6.  DOHENY Reference: PC2625 .R552 2001 t.1

Le nouveau Petit Robert de la langue française (2008): dictionnaire alphabétique et analogique de la langue française (texte remanié et amplifié sous la direction de Josette Rey-Debove et Alain Rey. Rey-Debove, Josette.).  DOHENY Reference: PC2625 .R646 2008.

For more dictionaries,

Search in Homer  using the terms:  French language--Dictionaries   and choose: series (rather than: word or phrase)

or, for an even larger listing, search in Quick Search : "French language-Dictionaries"

Encyclopedias

Encyclopédies (University of Sherbrooke):  Ouvrages généraux     See also:   Beaux-arts et littérature

Larousse - Encyclopédie

Encyclopédie, ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers  Search Online. 

 

Online Dictionaries - Verb Conjugaison

La Conjugaison (Le Nouvel Observateur) Plus de 8000 verbes français conjugués.

Le Conjugueur  (Le Figaro)

Verbix On-line Conjugator (multilingue)   "Verbix is a universal Verb Conjugator that shows complete verb  inflections of any verb in 100+ languages."

Online Dictionaries - Synonyms

Dictionnaire de synonymes (CNRS - Université de Caen - Centre de Recherche Inter-langues sur la Signification en Contexte [CRISCO].)
"Cette unité lexicale peut être un mot (exemple : truc) ou une expression (exemple : à côté). Dans certains cas, des majuscules peuvent être nécessaires (exemple : il y a dans le dictionnaire "Dieu" et "dieu"). Vous n'êtes pas obligé de taper les accents, le programme les mettra à votre place. En cas d'ambiguïté - exemple : "pécheur" et "pêcheur" - les différentes solutions vous seront proposées."