Web Resources
- Festival de Flor y Canto 2010: the slide showA slide show of photographs taken at the festival last week.
- Biographies and Photos of the 2010 Flor y Canto poets, writers and performance artists
- Festival de Flor y Canto (1973) in the USC Digital LibrarySee the videos online of the poets and writers reading selections from their works.
- Schedule of the Festival de Flor y Canto on the Visions and Voices WebsiteThe USC Arts and Humanities Initiative.
- Podcasts by Frank Moreno Sifuentes
Quick Basic Search
Beyond USC: Search Other Book Databases
- WorldCat Database Search for key words Flor y Canto and individual writer's surname and first name as author or subject. This database contains materials held by libraries around the world.
Introduction

"En el vacío está la luz del entendimiento ... la joyas más preciosas de la flor y el canto de sus antepasados ..." Laura Esquivel, La Malinche (2005)
In 1973, USC hosted the first Festival de Flor y Canto (Festival of flower and song). Tíhis groundbreaking literary event, named after the Nahuatl compound word for poetry, featured dozens of emerging Mexican American writers addressing a broad range of themes from personal stories to larger issues prominent in the Chicano Movement.
This year, with support from USC's Visions and Voices initiative, the USC Libraries is the principal host for a new Festival de Flor y Canto with writers and performance artists coming from California and many other states in the U.S. The three-day event begins on Wednesday, September 15th, 2010, at 1pm, at the Doheny Memorial Library, with a lineup featuring readings by many of the artists from the original festival, and follows on Thursday September 16th, at 1pm, and Friday September 17th at 10am, with representatives of a new generation of voices. The illustration above is by artist Magu (Gilbert Lujan).
Getting Started: Find Key Databases
Check these databases for books and articles by and about Chicano and Latino writers.
- Chicano DatabaseA major bibliographic database for topics on Mexican Americans and Chicano and Latino Studies. Includes books of poetry, short stories and novels, poems and short stories in periodicals, journals and anthologies, and critical works about poets and writers.
- HAPI Online: The Database of Latin American Journal ArticlesSearch for articles and book reviews related to Chicano and Latino writers. Articles mainly in English, Spanish or Portuguese.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, FictionBrings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesSee article by Nicolás Kanellos entitled "Poetry". Search for biographical and bibliographical information on Chicano and Latino writers.
LibGuide Authors
Barbara Robinson, Librarian, Chicano and Latino Studies
Iván E Calimano, Librarian, Special Collections, Cataloger
Loading...
