Skip to main content

European Union Documentation: European Union Overview

A guide to finding European Union print and online documentation.

Quick links for locating EU materials

The European Union provides extensive online access to its publications and institutions

A search in HOMER, the USC Libraries online catalog, will be helpful in locating print documents. 

Europeana  (currently offline due to overwhelming response.)  Plans to reinstate soon!

Research assistance is also available through Ask A Librarian.

European Union Overview and Links to Resources

 The USC Libraries is one of a network of European Union depositories in the United States.  VKC Library, located in the Von KleinSmid Center on the University Park Campus, holds the European Union print document collection dating back to 1951 when the Treaty Establishing the European Coal and Steel Community combined three institutions—the European Economic Community, the European Coal and Steel Community and the European Atomic Energy Community —to form the European Communities.   Later, the 1992 Treaty on European Union established a political and economic structure known as the European Union.

The 27 member states of the European Union are:  Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom. 


Access to European Union Information in the USC Libraries

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe  -- a database of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources. Updated daily.

Foreign Government Resources on the Web -- from the University of Michigan, a comprehensive and up-to-date directory of links to international government and NGO resources and information.

Subject Guide

Eimmy Solis's picture
Eimmy Solis
VKC Library