*Education: Identify Empirical Articles

Definition of an empirical study: An empirical research article reports the results of a study that uses data derived from actual observation or experimentation. Empirical research articles are examples of primary research.

Parts of a standard empirical research article: (articles will not necessary use the exact terms listed below.)

• Abstract ... A paragraph length description of what the study includes.
• Introduction...Includes a statement of the hypotheses for the research and a review of other research on the topic.
• Method ...A description of how the research was conducted, such as:
  • Who are participants
  • Design of the study
  • What the participants did
  • What measures were used
• Results...Describes the outcomes of the measures of the study.
• Discussion...Contains the interpretations and implications of the study.
• References...Contains citation information on the material cited in the report. (also called bibliography or works cited)

Characteristics of an Empirical Article:

• Empirical articles will include charts, graphs, or statistical analysis.
• Empirical research articles are usually substantial, maybe from 8-30 pages long.
• There is always a bibliography found at the end of the article.

Type of publications that publish empirical studies:

• Empirical research articles are published in scholarly or academic journals
• These journals are also called “peer-reviewed,” or “refereed” publications.

Examples of such publications include:

• AERA Open
• American Educational Research Journal
• Computers & Education
• Journal of Educational Psychology

Databases that contain empirical research: (selected list only)

• ERIC
• PsycINFO
• List of other useful databases by subject area

This page is adapted from Eric Karkhoff's Sociology Research Guide: Identify Empirical Articles page (Cal State Fullerton Pollak Library).

Roschelle, J., Feng, M., Murphy, R. F., & Mason, C. A. (2016). Online Mathematics Homework Increases Student Achievement. AERA Open.  (LINK TO ARTICLE)

Lester, J., Yamanaka, A., & Struthers, B. (2016). Gender microaggressions and learning environments: The role of physical space in teaching pedagogy and communication. Community College Journal of Research and Practice, 40(11), 909-926. (LINK TO ARTICLE)