Skip to main content

The Digital Humanities: Teaching and Learning

JOURNALS

The Journal of Interactive Technology and Pedagogy   Promotes open scholarly discourse around critical and creative uses of digital technology in teaching, learning, and research.

DIGITAL HUMANITIES PEDAGOGY

Digital Humanities Pedagogy  CEA Critic  Special Issue (Vol. 76, No. 2, July 2014).

Digital Humanities Pedagogy - Practices, Policies, and Politics, ed. by Brett D. Hirsch, 2012.  Access via:  e-Book  at USC, or Open Book Publishers  (HTML)

Shaping (Digital) Scholars:  Design Principles for Digital Pedagogy” by Lisa Spiro, August 2014 (pdf format). 

"Digital Pedagogy in Practice: Workshop Materials" by Lisa Spiro, March 2013.  Includes two sets of PowerPoint slides (pdf format):  

        Defining Digital Humanities - March 2, 2013.                                            http://digitalscholarship.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/gettysburgintrodigitalpedagogyfinal.pdf

        Case Studies of Digital Humanities Pedagogy – March 2, 2013.                http://digitalscholarship.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/gettysburgdhcasestudiesfinal.pdf


The Students' Voice

Bloomsburg U. Undergraduate Manifesto on Digital Humanities  (2013)  "We believe that teaching Digital Humanities to undergraduate students is critically important. (...) Today, we need collaboration, not lectures; we need to learn concepts, not singular facts; we need networking and socialization, not isolation; we need interactive learning, not to sit back and listen. We need new outcome objectives, not standardized tests."

SYLLABI

CUNY DH Programs and Syllabi http://commons.gc.cuny.edu/wiki/index.php/DH_Programs_and_Syllabi

Zotero Groups - Digital Humanities Education (Owner Lisa Spiro). Examines different approaches to digital humanities education.  Includes syllabi and curriculum planning documents, as well as as articles about open education, networked pedagogies, and more. https://www.zotero.org/groups/digital_humanities_education

VIDEOS

An interview with Jen Rajchel (2011), an English major at Bryn Mawr College, about how she has engaged with the Digital Humanities [5 mins]  http://vimeo.com/14860671.
  Why are the Digital Humanities important to you? (1:17) 
  What have the Digital Humanities taught you? (2:56)
  Digital Humanities and Liberal Education (4:14)

Since that interview Jen Rajchel became Assistant Director of Tri-Co Digital Humanities (Bryn Mawr College, Haverford College, and Swarthmore College).

 

"HOW TO" INFORMATION

Learning through Digital Media Experiments in Technology and Pedagogy  (by R. Trebor Scholz).   The simple, yet far-reaching, ambition of this collection is to discover how to use digital media for learning on campus and off. It offers a rich selection of methodologies, social practices, and hands-on assignments by leading educators who acknowledge the opportunities created by the confluence of mobile technologies, the World Wide Web, film, video games, TV, comics, and software while also acknowledging recurring challenges.  See:  EssaysLearning Tool Kit .

Universal Design for Learning in Higher Education - A Guide   Includes:  Selecting Media and Technology ;     Accessibility and Open Educational Resources (OERs) ; Source:  National Center on Universal Design for Learning  

 

OPEN ACCESS TEACHING AND LEARNING MATERIALS

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. 

OER Commons  Open Education Resources (OER) are teaching and learning materials freely available for everyone to use, whether you are a teacher or a learner. This includes full courses, modules, syllabi, lectures, homework assignments, quizzes, lab activities, pedagogical materials, games, simulations, and many more resources contained in digital media collections from around the world.

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Digital Humanities Summer Institute (DHSI) (British Columbia, Canada).  During a week of intensive coursework, seminars, and lectures, participants share ideas and methods, and develop expertise in using advanced technologies. Every summer, the institute brings together faculty, staff, and students from the Arts, Humanities, Library, and Archives communities as well as independent scholars and participants from areas beyond. http://www.dhsi.org/

Digital Humanities at Oxford Summer School (DHOxSS), An annual Digital Humanities training event which usually takes place in July at the University of Oxford. DHOxSS delegates are introduced to a range of topics suitable for researchers, project managers, research assistants, and students who are interested in the creation, management, analysis, modelling, visualization, or publication of digital data for the humanities. Each delegate follows one of our 5-day workshops and supplements this with plenary guest lectures by experts in their fields.  

HILT(Humanities Intensive Learning and Teaching),  Courses cover topics such as: Project Development; Humanities Programming; Wikipedia for Humanists and Cultural Heritage Professionals; Games in the Classroom; Large-Scale Text Analysis with R; Network Analysis and Visualization; Born-Digital Forensics; Crowdsourcing Cultural Heritage; and, Critical Race and Gender in Digital Humanities.   Keynote Speaker for HILT 2014: Tara McPherson (USC SChool of Cinematic Arts)               

MITH (Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities).  First annual Digital Humanities Winter Institute (DHWI) January 2013 at the University of Maryland in College Park, Maryland. "We’re delighted to be expanding the model pioneered by the highly-successful Digital Humanities Summer Institute (DHSI) at the University of Victoria to the United States."     

 

OPEN E-BOOKS COLLECTIONS

Directory of Open Access Books  Access to a continuously updated collection of academic peer-reviewed books  from an increasing list of publishers.

HathiTrust Digital Library. HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. http://www.hathitrust.org