Demographics
In addition to the databases shown here, you can search for articles on your topic in databases such as ProQuest or Nexis Uni or you can conduct an Everything - search search through multiple USC databases simultaneously.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
- Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new windowAnalysis, market data, & statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media. Search for demographic terms, e.g. ethnic groups, consumers.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowInternational company, industry and market information from Euromonitor. Select 'Countries & Consumers' for demographic data by country. Also, the "Consumer Lifestyles" reports have detailed demographic information for many countries.
- Pew Research Center - Generations and AgeSelect TOPICS to search for reports by subject. Select REPORTS to browse available reports, DATASETS on multiple demographics are also available for download as reports.
- RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe "Population and Demographics" section of this database contains statistical tables on vital statistics, population estimates, population projections and immigration.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowDetailed information from the US Census, Experian Simmons and many more data sources. Data can be presented in maps or tables.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowEasy to use, this database allows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded.
- WARC This link opens in a new windowPreviously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform.
- Ad AgeGlobal media brand that publishes news, analysis, and data on marketing and media. Ad Age is the marketing industry's most trusted news source for features, reports, and statistics about advertising, consumers, and more.
Some marketing and/or advertising agencies produce consumer insights reports. You will find links via an aggregated list below:
Note: Demographics refer to statistical data (age, gender, income, etc.) collected for a particular population. Psychographics refer to information about a particular population's attitudes, aspirations, and other lifestyle criteria.
Companies use both psychographic and demographic information in order to segment their markets, establish spending patterns, and create the best buying experiences for their customers.
- Catalyst ResearchFree research and reports covering women in the workplace.
- Marketing DiveIn-depth journalism and insight into the most impactful news and trends shaping marketing & advertising.
- GreenBookLeading voice in market research and consumer insights.
- Google Consumer Insights & TrendsUnderstand how shifts in consumer behaviors, needs, and beliefs can inspire powerful marketing insights.
- MarketingChartsHub of marketing data, graphics, and analyses.
- Trend HunterConsumer trends publisher.
Other important resources include:
Demographics Unravelled: How Demographics Affect and Influence Every Aspect of Economics, Finance and Policy by ISBN: 9781119799160Publication Date: 2021
The Aftermath: The Last Days of the Baby Boom and the Future of Power in America by ISBN: 9780593489697Publication Date: 2023
Find key government data, including reports and statistics using the following resources:
- BLS Labor Force StatisticsContains information about U.S. national labor force statistics with demographic characteristics available from the Current Population Survey (CPS).
- BLS Consumer Expenditure SurveyProvides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.
- Current Populations SurveyMonthly survey of households in the U.S. Provides data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics.
- State & County Quick FactsData supplied by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Survey of Consumer FinancesTriennial reports published by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. 2022 most recent.
For international demographics, consult the following:
- International Labour OrganizationSee 'Newsroom' tab for latest news; Select PUBLICATIONS for recent reports; RESEARCH for reports on employment quality, inequality, labor standards, etc.
- World Economic Forum - PopulationVarious reports from the World Economic Forum.
- World Population ProspectsReports and data issued by the United Nations.