Remote log-in to the resources listed below is available for USC students, faculty, and staff only. Go to https://libproxy.usc.edu to log in.
To find books, search the USC libraries catalog.
To find articles, start with the Historical Abstracts and with JSTOR.
To locate dissertations and theses, go to Proquest Dissertations and Theses.
Additional specialized resources include:
East Europe, Central Europe Database: offers full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
CEEOL: Central and Eastern European Online Library -- a repository of journal articles, ebooks, and grey literature in the humanities and social sciences, published in and about Eastern and Central Europe, including publications in native languages. Includes open access [freely available] publications.
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES) - This is a bibliography on European scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. The coverage is from 1991-2007 and includes over 85,000 titles.
Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Journals, (East View) includes, among other titles, Vetsnik Evropy, an important 19th century Russian literary and cultural periodical, as well as full text of current academic journals published in Russia.