Handouts
Comments (0)
Sample search
Find 3 scholarly articles
1. Search your keywords in ProQuest as start.
- Use "*" to truncate your keywords and get more results of your keywords;
- Use "AND" to connect your keywords in order to narrow down your search and get what you are looking for;
- Search within "Abstract", which will help you find what you are looking for;
- Always pay attention to "suggested topics" or "subjects", which might give you good search queries;
For instance, search "stem cell*" AND "bioethics" in the search box and check what kind of results you have
3. When you have good ideas about your topic, search subject specialized databases
Multisubject Resources
- ProQuest Research Librarymulti-disciplinary index for multi-subject (newspaper, scholarly information)
- Wilson OmniFile6 individual full-text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers’ Guide, Social Sciences, and Wilson Business (please check them before searching). Good for scholarly information
- CSA platformAfter log in, please go to "Specific Databases", select and search the following 4 databases: Philosopher's Index; PsycINFO; Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts; BioOne Abstracts and Indexes.
- EBSCO platformAfter log in, please go to "Choose databases", select the following databases: Historical Abstracts, Show allAbstracts in Social Gerontology, America: History & Life, Family Studies Abstracts, CINAHL, Family & Society Studies Worldwide, Social Work Abstracts, AgeLine
Subject Specialized Resources
- CQ Researcher Plus Archivecoverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Good review article for your topics. Full-text available
- PubMedMedical information
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics
- AccessScience
Websites
- The President's Council on BioethicsAdvising the President on ethical issues related to
advances in biomedical science and technology; Commission created by Presidential Executive order #12975 (10/3/1995).
Your Information Concierge |
Contact Info Office: 102 SSL (beside the 1st floor photocopier) Phone: 213-740-5775 blea@usc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
