Handouts
Comments (0)
Assesment
Sample search
1. Think of "large-scale change", and figure out a case/policy you want to search
For instance, "Global Warming" (a large-scale change), which is part of "Environment Policy"
2. Search multi-sibject resources to start your research
- Use "*" to truncate your keywords and get more results of your keywords;
- Use "AND" to connect your keywords in order to narrow down your search and get what you are looking for;
- Search within "Abstract", which will help you find what you are looking for;
- Always pay attention to "suggested topics" or "subjects", which might give you good search queries;
3. When you have good ideas about your topic, search subject specialized databases
Multisubject Resources
- ProQuest Research Librarymulti-disciplinary index for multi-subject (newspaper, scholarly information)
- Wilson OmniFile6 individual full-text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers’ Guide, Social Sciences, and Wilson Business (please check them before searching). Good for scholarly information
Subject Specialized Resources
The ones for this assignment (you definitely want to search) are
- CQ Library
- PAIS
- LexisNexis Academic
- CSASearch the following databases:Communication Abstracts; ERIC; CSA Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts; Philosopher's Index; PsycINFO; Sociological Abstracts
Subject Research Guides
These are databases in political science areas, which are put together by your subject librarian. Please open the link, read the note of every database, and find ones you want to try.
Your Information Concierge |
Contact Info Office: 102 SSL (beside the 1st floor photocopier) Phone: 213-740-5775 blea@usc.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
