Spanish & Portuguese News at USC
- Latvian translation of Don Quixote donated (Oct. 2009)Gift to the L.A. Murillo Cervantes collection in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian & Latin American Studies.
- When Windmills Are Giants: Novel Adventures of Don Quixote (Exhibition Invitation)Visions & Voices exhibition and opening reception in Doheny Library, February 19th, 2009, featuring selections from the L.A. Murillo Cervantes Collection.
Call Numbers
Library of Congress call numbers arrange books by topic. Below are some call number ranges that cover Spanish and Portuguese literatures, languages and culture.
Spain--History DP1-402
Portugal--History DP501-900.22
Spanish language PC4001-4977
Portuguese language PC5001-5498
Spanish and Spanish American Literatures PQ6001-8929
Portuguese and Brazilian Literatures PQ9000-9999
Introduction
Welcome to the guide to research resources on Spanish and Portuguese Languages and Literatures!
The collections at USC supporting the study and instruction of Spanish and Portuguese languages and literatures, from the Iberian peninsula to the Americas, are located in the Doheny Memorial Library. The circulating books are in the bookstacks of Doheny Library and the rare, fragile and non-circulating materials are housed in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian & Latin American Studies, available for consultation in the Special Collections reading room.
The specialized reference materials, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical and bibliographical sources on the Hispanic world are housed in the Boeckmann Center Reference Collection in room 233 on the second floor of Doheny Library.
Tips for Getting Started
- MLA BibliographyIndex to scholarly publications in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals and series published worldwide. Indexing only: no full text.
- Bibliografia de la literatura espanola desde 1980Es la más completa y única bibliografía sobre la Literatura Española actual. Pone a su disposición referencias bibliográficas de obras, ediciones, traducciones de originales y estudios sobre los mismos, aparecidos a partir de 1980 en libros o en publicaciones periódicas, homenajes, actas de congresos, misceláneas, etc.; editadas en España o en el extranjero.
Librarian, Special Collections/Boeckmann
Related Research Guides
- Don Quixote de La Mancha: Research GuideOverview of print, electronic and film resources, on Spanish author Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra and his masterpiece Don Quixote de la Mancha