Reference Works - Print (Selected Titles)
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing
"Designed for the 'informed reader' rather than the specialist, this
encyclopedia includes writers from non-Western cultures as well as the
Western canon. The entries, arranged alphabetically, consist of three
types of essays--on individuals, nations or geographical areas, and
topics. The topics were suggested by 19 advisors and prepared by
approximately 400 contributors. Within some entries there may be
chronological arrangement. Each entry is signed and followed by see also references and an often extensive bibliography or further reading list. Biographical entries include brief biographical notes." - Booklist
Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800: An International Dictionary
"A biographical dictionary in the field of historiograph, this volume consists of brief articles on the life and work of 600 historians from all over the world. The
introduction by Boia traces the evolution of the field. Entries are
arranged alphabetically by country or geographic area, and include
brief bibliographies." - Reference & Research Book News
Great Historians of the Modern Age: An International Dictionary
“Sometimes history does repeat itself--and sometimes with happy
results. This companion to Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800
summarizes the contributions and insights to several hundred
nineteenth-and twentieth-century historians, all deceased, from
thirty-eight regions and nations around the world. . .The extensive subject index testifies to the increasing importance of
various philosophical schools, historiographic trends, and concepts in
efforts to understand and explain the significance of the past. The brief biographical information in each entry will prove useful, but
even more useful will be the expositions of these historians' major
tenets and contributions, information their readers need to understand the historians' understanding of history." - Wilson Library Bulletin
Reference Works - Electronic (Selected Titles)
Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History
"Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available
under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across
every continent and every century of history."
A Dictionary of Contemporary History, 1945 to the Present
"A concise guide to the ideas, events, people and movements that have
shaped the world from the end of the Second World War to the present.
The dictionary's entries cover all major countries of the world, as
well as general issues of international significance, including the
global economy, population explosion and women's liberation."
The Encyclopedia of World History: Ancient, Medieval, and Modern, Chronologically Arranged
"A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000."
Librarian |
Anthony Andersonphone: (213) 740-1190
Send Email
Subjects:
Dance; GLBT (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered) Studies; History (Historiography); History, Africa; History, Asia (except East Asian); History, Australia & Oceania; History, Britain; History, Western Europe; Library Science; Theater



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait