HRAF: Help with Microfiche
- HRAF: Complete Microfiche List
- Research Guide for Using HRAF Microfiche
- List of Outline of Cultural Materials
- HRAF Microfiche in Doheny Reference Room
How Do I Cite HRAF Sources?
- Chicago-style citation to the HRAF Collection of Ethnography on microfiche
Musil, A. (1928). The manners and customs of the Rwala Bedouins. New York: American Geographical Society (HRAF Source 2 in the Rwala file).
Citation in text:
(HRAF Source 2: Musil, p. 255-56) - APA-style citation to the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography on the Web
Irwin, G. J. (1983). Chieftainship, Kula and trade in Massim prehistory. In J.W. Leach (Ed.), The Kula: New Perspectives on Massim Exchange (pp. 29-72). Cambridge, U.K. Cambridge University Press. As seen in the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography on the Web, (Dec 1, 2008).
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF): Introduction
HRAF (Human Relations Area File) is a collection of descriptive ethnographic research data which is located both electronically - through the Library's online databases (eHRAF), and in microfiche - a much more comprehensive collection - at the Reference Desk. HRAF contains descriptive data on more than 300 groups of people from around the world.
HRAF enables the researcher to investigate cross–cultural issues such as sex roles, child care, marriage, and religion. Most of the groups included represent smaller societies such as the Ashanti (FE12), Aztec (NU7), Iroquois (NM09), or Yoruba (FF62).
However, HRAF includes files for U.S. groups such as African Americans (NK4) and Chicanos (N7). In addition other files of interest include: Koreans (AA01), Japanese (AB43), and Vietnamese (AM11).
Find Quotes
Use this guide to find quotes by members of your culture. See also a related guide by Sue Tyson, Finding Primary Sources for Native American Studies.
Source List from HRAF
- HRAF source bibliography : cumulative This work lists all sources included in the HRAF Collection of Ethnography through January 1, 1994.
Reference Librarian |
Felicia Palsson(213) 740-8349
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, Psychology, Sociology, and General Reference/ General Education





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait