Quick Links
USC Shoah Foundation Institute
Curator's Blog (forthcoming)
Slovakia
In
The mass deportation of Jews began in March 1942. Slovak Jews were
some of the first prisoners to be deported to Auschwitz-Birkenau. The archive
includes testimonies of prisoners who survived from that time (e.g. Ria Elias,
interview code 25023, Portuguese). Several testimonies discuss the Slovak escapees
from
A unique aspect of Slovak Holocaust history is the activity of the
"Working Group" (Pracovná Skupina). This organization was made up of
members of the Ústredna Zidov (the Slovak Judenrat) who, through a variety of
methods including bribery, attempted to save Slovak Jews from deportation.
Partly as a result of their efforts, the deportations were stopped in October
1942. The Working Group played a major role in getting the camps Sered',
Nováky, and Vyhne designated as labor camps so that their Jewish specialist
workforces would be safe from deportation.
The archive includes interviews of Andrew Steiner (interview code
5154, English), the last living member of Working Group; Emanuel Frieder
(interview code 7202, Hebrew), brother of rabbi Armin Frieder of the Working
Group; and Gideon Frieder (interview code 22840, English), rabbi Frieder's son.
Vladimír Bachnár (interview code 24550, Slovak), a member of the communist
underground, discusses his activities in the Working Group as an insider in the
deportations department of the Judenrat. The archive also includes the
testimony of Ernest [Arnost] Rosin (interview code 32034, German), a Slovak Jew
who escaped from
Transit camps/deportation centers such as
At least 200 interviews include discussions of the Slovak National
Uprising of 1944 and its subsequent collapse. The archive contains a number of
interviews with partisans who fought in the uprising. Survivors who
participated were able to remain in
The Slovak National Uprising is discussed especially in the Slovak-language interviews. Among them, Alexander Bachnár (interview code 14754, Slovak; cousin of the aforementioned Vladimír Bachnár) was one of the Jewish partisan commanders of the uprising; another Jewish partisan figure is Bernard Knezo (interview code 17272, Slovak).
Among the rarer experiences recounted in the testimonies are those
of the wartime Slovakian administration of a small area of southern
Among the non-Jewish interviewees is Anton Rasla (interview code
20285, Slovak), who was the chief prosecutor in the postwar trial of Jozef
Tiso. An example of a Slovak rescuer is Stefan Pancik (interview code 37777,
Slovak), whose family protected Andrew Steiner and others.
Southern Slovakia (Felvidék)
Over 1,500 interviewees were born in the area of southern Slovakian border around Kosice that came under Hungarian rule after March 1939 and was known in Hungarian as Felvidék. Hungarian
authorities immediately enacted several anti-Jewish laws. The Hungarian
army began to draft men of age into the forced labor service
(Munkaszolgálat), a section of the army that performed menial and
dangerous
tasks on the front lines without weaponry (at least 1,700 interviews in
total
describe this experience). Conscripts to the forced labor battalions
often
avoided deportation to Auschwitz, instead being marched to camps in
The first deportations took place in summer 1941. Hungarian
authorities expelled a large number of Jews without Hungarian citizenship to
the Skala and Kolomyja area of southwestern
The area experienced the full force of the Final Solution after the German invasion of
Almost all of these interviews of witnesses born in the southern Slovakia (Felvidék) region were conducted in other parts of the world and in various languages, attesting to the widespread emigration of the surviving Jewish community from the area.
The
Shoah Foundation Institute conducted 664 interviews in
See also: Czechoslovakia
Visual History Archive Curator |
Crispin Brooks



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait