BelarusCzech RepublicCzechoslovakiaEstoniaFranceGeorgiaGermanyHungaryKazakhstanLatviaLithuaniaNetherlandsPolandPortugalRomaniaRussiaSlovakiaSpainUkraineUnited KingdomUSSRUzbekistan
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

USC Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive  Tags: holocaust survivors video testimonies history  

Established in 1994 to preserve the oral histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation Institute maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).
Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/vha  Print Guide  RSS Updates

VHA FAQs             Print Page
  
 

Quick Links

USC Shoah Foundation Institute

VHA Search

Email the Curator

Curator's Blog (forthcoming)

LibGuide: Holocaust Studies

 

Subject Guide: Countries

 
 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

What is the USC Shoah Foundation Institute?

See History.

 

What is the Visual History Archive?

The Visual History Archive (VHA) is the search tool that allows users to search and browse the entire collection of video testimonies gathered by the USC Shoah Foundation Institute. It is based here at USC.

 

Is the VHA on the internet?

No, the VHA is not accessible over the public internet. Instead it is made available via Internet2, a secure broadband network shared by a consortium of educational and research institutions. Institutions that are part of Internet2 (or its equivalent) may subscribe to the archive. Currently, the VHA can be viewed at these locations worldwide.

 

I am a USC student (staff/faculty member). How can I watch a testimony?

See Search the VHA.

 

I am not a USC student (staff/faculty member). How can I watch a testimony?

See Search the VHA.

 

How can I get a copy of a testimony?

See VHA Copies & Downloads.

 

How many interviews are there in the VHA?

Nearly 52,000 video interviews. In total the VHA contains approximately 105,000 hours, or 12 years, of continuous video.

 

When did you conduct the interviews?

Between 1994 and 1999.

 

Where were they collected?

In 56 different countries. See Collecting Interviews Worldwide.

 

Did you only interview in English?

No, we took interviews in 32 different languages. English was the largest language, with close to 25,000 interviews. See Collecting Interviews Worldwide.

 
Did you only interview Jewish Holocaust survivors?

No, the VHA contains nine different interviewee experience groups:

  • Jewish survivors (approx. 95%)
  • homosexual survivors
  • Jehovah's Witnesses
  • liberators and liberation witnesses
  • political prisoners
  • rescue and aid providers
  • Sinti and Roma survivors
  • survivor of eugenics policies
  • war crimes trials participants

 

Which is the longest interview in the VHA?

At just under 16 hours, the longest interview in the VHA is that of Mosheh Beyski (interview code 23848, Hebrew), a Schindler survivor and later a supreme court judge in Israel.

 

Who is the oldest interviewee in the VHA?

The oldest interviewee, born in 1892, is Frida Rosenbaum (interview code 7335, Dutch). She was 103 when she gave her testimony.

The most popular year of birth for VHA interviewees is 1924.

In terms of age distribution, there is an equal split: roughly one third were adults, one third teenagers, and one third children when the war began in 1939.

 

How were the interviews conducted?

See The Interview.

 

How is the archive preserved?

See Preserving the Archive.

 

Do you have transcripts for the testimonies?

No, instead of transcribing, we cataloged and indexed them fully.

 

How did you catalog and index the testimonies?

The Shoah Foundation Institute created proprietary software for cataloging and indexing. We devised keywords to meet the needs of the collection’s content and organized them into a keyword thesaurus conforming to standard practice. The thesaurus evolved over time and grew in volume as the testimonies were indexed. It currently contains more than 55,000 keywords, some 90% of which are geographic in nature.

Cataloging refers to the data-entry of the pre-interview questionnaires (PIQs), documents filled out by the interviewer and interviewee before each interview that provide basic biographical information about the interviewee and his/her family.

Indexing refers to the minute-by-minute indexing of the video interviews. To do this, each interview was divided into one-minute segments  Then, indexers assigned keywords to the relevant segments. This process is like book indexing but where the keyword refers to the particular minute of an interview where that subject was discussed, rather than to a page of a book.

For more details, see Cataloguing and Indexing.

 

Are there other places that have interviewed Holocaust survivors?

Yes, many of them. A list of them can be found here.

 

Is the USC Shoah Foundation Institute still collecting interviews?

Not at the present time. Organizations that may still be recording survivors include:

 

Association of Holocaust Organizations

(516) 582-4571

P.O. Box 230317

Hollis, NY 11423

e-mail: ahoinfo@att.net

website: www.ahoinfo.org

 

Florida Holocaust Museum

(727) 820-0100

55 Fifth Street South

St. Petersburg, FL  33701

e-mail:  smgolman@flholocaustmuseum.org

website: www.flholocaustmuseum.org

 

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

(203) 432-1879

Yale University - Sterling Memorial Library

New Haven, CT  06520-8240

e-mail: fortunoff.archive@yale.edu

website:  www.library.yale.edu/testimonies

 

Holocaust Documentation and Education Center, Inc.

(954) 929-5635

2031 Harrison St.

Hollywood, FL  33020

e-mail:  infor@hdec.org

website:  www.hdec.org

 

Holocaust Museum Houston

(713) 942-8000

5401 Caroline St.

Houston, TX  77004

e-mail:  smyers@hmh.org

website:  www.hmh.org

 

Jewish Heritage Project (survivor must sponsor)

(212) 925-9067

150 Franklin Street, #1W

New York, New York  10013

e-mail:  alanadelson@verizon.net

 

Oral History Project - Holocaust Center of Northern California

(650) 570-6382

e-mail: agsaldinger@hcnc.org

website: www.hcnc.org

 

United States Holocaust Museum

(202) 488-0400

100 Raoul Wallenberg Place SW

Washington, DC  20024-2156

e-mail:  contributions@ushmm.org

website:  www.ushmm.org

 

Virginia Holocaust Museum

(804) 257-5400

2000 East Cary St.

Richmond, Virginia  23223

e-mail:  info@va-holocaust.com

website:  www.va-holocaust.com

 

Yad Vashem - Jerusalem

972-2-644-3400

e-mail:  general.information@yadvashem.org.il

website:  www.yadvashem.org

 

Visual History Archive Curator

Profile ImageCrispin Brooks
Contact Info:
DML 232, 213-740-5463
Send Email

Subjects:
Holocaust studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait