BelarusCzech RepublicCzechoslovakiaEstoniaFranceGeorgiaGermanyHungaryKazakhstanLatviaLithuaniaNetherlandsPolandPortugalRomaniaRussiaSlovakiaSpainUkraineUnited KingdomUSSRUzbekistan
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

USC Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive  Tags: holocaust survivors video testimonies history  

Established in 1994 to preserve the oral histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation Institute maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).
Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/vha  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Netherlands             Print Page
  
 

Quick Links

USC Shoah Foundation Institute

VHA Search

Email the Curator

Curator's Blog (forthcoming)

LibGuide: Holocaust Studies

 

Subject Guide: Countries

 
 

Netherlands

A total of 2,838 testimonies have content on the Netherlands—these were conducted in various languages (including 1,083 interviews in Dutch) and in several different locations (1,062 in the Netherlands).

A large number of testimonies talk about the prewar Jewish communities in Holland: some 1,439 Jewish survivors interviewed by the Shoah Foundation were born in the Netherlands, growing up in Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague, and other locations.

After Hitler came to power in 1933, refugees from Germany and Austria fled to Holland, some making their way further on Kindertransports to the United Kingdom or immigrating to the United States.

After the German invasion of May 1940, the situation gradually became ever more perilous for Jews. The Dutch testimonies describe the imposition of anti-Jewish laws, such as the wearing of the yellow star; the role of the Joodse Raad (Jewish Council or Judenrat) and its leaders Abraham Asscher and David Cohen, among others; the formation of the Amsterdam ghetto and the use of the Hollandsche Schouwburg as a collection center; the deportations to the Westerbork and Vught (Herzogenbusch) concentration camps and, from there, to Theresienstadt and Auschwitz. There are discussions of those who attempted to help Jews avoid deportation, such as Walter Süskind and Piet Meerburg.

The archive contains many interviews of survivors who successfully hid or assumed false identities. Another major topic is involvement in the Dutch underground, with content about the Nederlandse Binnenlandse Strijdkrachte as well as specific groups like Landelijke Knokploegen.

The testimonies give information on Dutch aid givers such as Leendert Overduin, Corrie Ten Boom, and Joop Westerweel, and of rescue efforts such as the so-called Philips Group.

Additionally, the archive contains 113 interviews with Rescuers and Aid Providers born in the Netherlands, including 79 in Dutch; 77 of these interviews were conducted in Holland.

 

Visual History Archive Curator

Profile ImageCrispin Brooks
Contact Info:
DML 232, 213-740-5463
Send Email

Subjects:
Holocaust studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait