BelarusCzech RepublicCzechoslovakiaEstoniaFranceGeorgiaGermanyHungaryKazakhstanLatviaLithuaniaNetherlandsPolandPortugalRomaniaRussiaSlovakiaSpainUkraineUnited KingdomUSSRUzbekistan
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

USC Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive  Tags: holocaust survivors video testimonies history  

Established in 1994 to preserve the oral histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation Institute maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).
Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/vha  Print Guide  RSS Updates

VHA Subject Guide: Countries             Print Page
  
 

Quick Links

USC Shoah Foundation Institute

VHA Search

Email the Curator

Curator's Blog (forthcoming)

LibGuide: Holocaust Studies

 

Subject Guide: Countries

 
 

Overview

Click on the specific countries in the left box to learn about the VHA interviews which discuss them.

 

The testimonies of the Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive were recorded primarily between 1994 and 1999 in 56 countries and in 32 languages. While the majority of the interviews are with Jewish Holocaust survivors, the archive also includes the testimonies of political prisoners, Sinti and Roma (Gypsy) survivors, Jehovah's Witness survivors, survivors of eugenics policies, and homosexual survivors as well as rescuers, liberators, and participants in war crimes trials.

Each interview typically follows a chronological pattern, with the interviewee discussing memories from before World War II, then wartime experiences, and subsequently life after the war. The interview concludes with the interviewee displaying photographs, documents, and artifacts pertaining to his or her family and wartime experiences. Finally, interviewees introduce family members and friends on camera. During some interviews, literary or musical works are performed or original works of art are displayed. Around 150 interviews feature walking tours, in which a portion of the interview was conducted at sites of former concentration camps, ghettos, mass graves, or in front of prewar family homes.

With each interview fully indexed, the people, places, events, and experiences described can be searched in detail. For example, the archive includes over 1.2 million name records—those of the interviewees themselves, their family members and anyone else they talk about in the interview—in addition to more than 40,000 specific geographic locations, not only from Europe but from all over the world. The varied and detailed subject keywords used to index the testimonies are listed the Keyword Thesaurus.

The interviews encompass nine different experience groups,

Jewish survivors (48,779), rescuers and aid providers (1,131), Sinti and Roma survivors (406), liberators and liberation witnesses (362), political prisoners (261), Jehovah's Witness survivors (83), war crimes trial participants (62), survivors of eugenics policies (13), and homosexual survivors (6)

32 languages,

English (24,823), Russian (7,084), Hebrew (6,301), French (1,881), Polish (1,566), Spanish (1,354), Hungarian (1,349), Dutch (1,082), German (931), Bulgarian (624), Slovak (573), Czech (566), Portuguese (563), Yiddish (560), Italian (434), Croatian (393), Serbian (378), Greek (306), Ukrainian (304), Swedish (266), Romanian (129), Danish (69), Lithuanian (45), Norwegian (34), Romani (24), Ladino (10), Macedonian (9), Slovenian (6), Flemish (5), Sign (5), Japanese (1), and Latvian (1)

and 56 countries where interviews were conducted

U.S.A. (19,837), Israel (8,454), Ukraine (3,426), Canada (2,837), Australia (2,487), France (1,668), Poland (1,434), Netherlands (1,049), United Kingdom (873), Hungary (802), Argentina (737), Russia (677), Germany (676), Slovakia (664), Bulgaria (627), Brazil (567), Czech Republic (567), Italy (418), Yugoslavia (346), Croatia (327), Sweden (327), Greece (304), Moldova (284), South Africa (250), Belarus (244), Venezuela (228), Belgium (206), Austria (189), Romania (147),  Lithuania (137), Uruguay (125), Mexico (111), Denmark (95), Latvia (79), Switzerland (70), Chile (65), Bosnia and Herzegovina (54), New Zealand (54), Norway (34), Uzbekistan (25), Bolivia (23), Costa Rica (19), Colombia (15), Slovenia (11), Ecuador (9), Estonia (9), Macedonia (9), Zimbabwe (8), Spain (7), Georgia (6), Kazakhstan (6), Ireland (4), Peru (2), Portugal (2), Finland (1), and Japan (1).

 

Visual History Archive Curator

Profile ImageCrispin Brooks
Contact Info:
DML 232, 213-740-5463
Send Email

Subjects:
Holocaust studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait