Last Updated: Aug 9, 2013
Welcome to our Resource Guide for Early Modern French Cultures [French 351], and Modern French Cultures [French 352].
This guide is not a comprehensive guide to all of the research relating to French culture and civilization for the centuries that we shall study. Rather, it is a succinct guide to useful resources to be used together with the course's "Tableaux Synoptiques", and as you prepare your oral presentations, your class project, and your research paper.
In addition to the 5 databases listed here you will find other helpful databases in the Section titled "Useful Databases".
Complete full-text coverage includes core scholarly journals in anthropology, Asian studies, biology, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.
- MLA Bibliography
The Modern Languages Association International Bibliography indexes critical scholarship worldwide on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore (1963-present). Provides records from over 4000 international publications including journals, books, series, dissertations, bibliographies, working papers, proceedings, and other materials. It does not include book reviews. Indexing only: no full text;
Available in paper format from 1921-1996 at Grand Depository, call number: Z7006.M64
- PERSEE - Portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales
Persée: Portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales
Provides full-text access to the back files of French journals in the social and human sciences. The main goal of the Persée project is to widely disseminate the intellectual output of francophone specialists in social sciences and the humanities on the Internet. It provides free access to full-text articles in pdf format in English or French. See also: Revues.org (below).
- Project Muse
Peer-reviewed journals from non-profit scholarly publishers as well as university presses and societies. Wide variety of humanities and social science subjects.
Like Persée, Revues.org provides full-text access to French journals in the social sciences and the humanities. It is possible to search all journals or a specific journal title. The entry for each journal title includes a timeline of dates for which only abstracts are available and dates for which full text is available.
Links to other research guides (your own or other selectors)