Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* Music 

Library Resources in the Field of Music
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Reference Tools

A wide variety of reference tools are listed here for your scholarly use.

The dictionaries and encyclopedias will help you explore musical subjects and learn more about composers and performers.

The directories will help you find everything from opera companies to early music programs.

 

 

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • Oxford Music Online  
    Begin your music research here!
    This is the access point for Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online  
    The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. This database integrates text, images, as well as musical examples within the Music Online interface.
  • Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians  
    Most recent edition of the important 6-volume print dictionary of major and minor musicians.
    ML105.B16 2001
  • Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart  
    Leading scholarly German music encyclopedia in 17 print volumes.
    ML100.M92
  • African American Music Reference  
    African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Directories

  • Musical America  
    The all-in-one musical directory! Find everything from artist managers to music publishers to international contests. Register for the e-newsletter for a weekly recap of musical news around the world.
  • Directory of music faculties in colleges and universities, U. S. and Canada  
    Published by the College Music Society, this annual directory lists over 37,000 faculty members in over 1,800 schools of music. Search for faculty by teaching specialty or search for specific graduate degrees.
    ML13.D57
 

Music Librarian

Profile ImageStephanie Bonjack
Contact Info:
USC Music Library
Doheny Memorial Library G18
(213) 740.2926
Send Email

Subjects:
Music

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait