Finding Scores
Search Homer, the USC Libraries' catalog, for printed music at USC. Make sure to click on "Advanced Search" to most effectively find what you need. All scores are located in the Music Library.
Search WorldCat for scores in other libraries.
Request books, articles, scores and sound recordings from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. Create a username and password the first time you use this service.
Searching Tips
Scores can be difficult to find because composers use generic titles like "symphony" or "concerto", which are the names of the forms used to structure the music. Often, composers write multiple pieces of music with the same form, so we find Symphony No. 1, Symphony No. 2, etc.
To help in your search, librarians catalog this music with uniform titles, which bring together all editions and arrangements of the same piece under one name.
For example, the uniform title for an arrangement of Mozart's 13th symphony for guitar quartet is: Symphonies, K.112, F major; arr.
To find a piece in Homer with a generic title, first click on "advanced search", then enter the composer's name as the author, the form of the piece as the title (use the plural), and "scores" or "scores and parts" as the subject. Finally, enter any additional information - like catalog number or instrument(s) for which the piece is arranged - as a word or phrase.
To learn more about uniform titles, visit the Uniform Title Program website at Indiana University.
Collected Works
The Scores Reference section of the Music Library is where you find collected works of composers as well as monumental sets and series. Since many of these collections have numerous volumes, you will not be able to find the individual pieces contained within them by searching Homer.
- IPM: Index to Printed Music IPM is the only electronic resource for finding individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions. Included is music from ancient Greek times to the present. Detailed indexing makes IPM an invaluable resource for music researchers and students, as content is searchable by composer name or ID, editor, genre, language, librettist, format, publisher name, series, title, instrumentation and/or number of instruments, and results can be limited by genre and/or language.
Scores Databases
- Orchestral Music Online Orchestral Music Online is the online version of David Daniels's classic repertoire reference work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists. The database provides access to information on more than 6700 works by some 900 composers, and allows searching by duration, instrumentation, chorus type, and soloists.
- Classical Scores Library Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. Major composers are represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
- Naxos Music Library: Sheet Music The Naxos Music Library offers over 45,000 sheet music titles in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Pärt. You can download the music easily and print using the FreeHand Solero viewer, available for download on the site.
Useful Websites
- Choral Public Domain Library Popular website for choral conductors. Includes thousands of pieces of music which are searchable by voicing, accompaniment, form, and sacred season. Site also includes texts and translations as well as information about composers.
- IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library Free public domain sheet music library. The goal of this site is to create a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers (living or otherwise) who are willing to share their music with the world without charge. Note: this site adheres to Canadian copyright, which is shorter than U.S. copyright.
- Themefinder Themefinder is an online thematic catalog. It includes about 35,000 musical incipits from three sets: classical, folksong, and Renaissance. Themes can be searched by pitch, interval, scale degree, and contour, and can be located at the beginning or anywhere within the incipit. Information about the piece and composer, other themes within the work, and Midi files accompany each incipit.
Music Librarian |
Stephanie Bonjack


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait