Research Guides: Physics *: Find Articles

Google Scholar

Important Note!! Set up "Library Links" in your Scholar preferences to search USC Libraries. Then, you will have direct links to the full text in your search results ("Find it @ USC").

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan & Document delivery services

Primary Databases

Here are primary subject databases in Physics.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A half century of pioneering concepts and fundamental research have been digitized and indexed in a variety of ways in this special collection of works published by ACM since its inception.
The ACM Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full texts.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library.
Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new window
an engineering information for two databases, Inspec and Compendex.

Compendex: Indexes to journals, conferences, technical reports of engineering and applied science; from 1969 to present; updated weekly
INSPEC (via Engineering Village 2)
Abstracts of scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering; from 1969 to present; updated weekly
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System Journals This link opens in a new window
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 3.6 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy.
The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through the Abstract Service query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though the Browse interface. Please note that all abstracts and articles in the ADS are copyrighted by the publisher, and their use is free for personal use only. For more information, please read ADS\' page detailing the Terms and Conditions regulating the use of the resources. In addition to its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives, and currently have links to over 4.6 million records maintained by the collaborators.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The SPIE Digital Library contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 445,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.
Covered are books, journal articles and proceedings.

SPIRES-HEP Search
a joint project of SLAC, DESY & FNAL as well as the worldwide HEP community. High-Energy Physics Literature Database

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.

Secondary Databases

Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from AIAA and NASA.
The database currently includes over 3.6M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Covers all aspects of applied research in the aerospace and space sciences.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines.
This resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.

ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Abstracts of publications from America Society of Civil Engineering; from 1970 to present

Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Life sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

CERN Document Server (CDS)

Energy Citations Database This link opens in a new window
ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science.
It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
Engineering Research Database This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of the international serial and non-serial literature for research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, transportation engineering, forensic engineering, engineering services, education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, mathematics/computation, design, construction, and latest technological developments.
ProQuest Deep Indexing: Engineering supplements the database with access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is the searchable Web database providing access to over 55 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
MathSciNet covers Mathematical Reviews (in full-text) from 1940 to the present. Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included. The approximately 1600 current serials and journals indexed and reviewed in whole or in part by MathSciNet are listed in the Abbreviations of Names of Serials."""""""""""""""

Norris Medical Library Resources
Databases covering biomedical engineering and health-related research

PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.

Quakeline
Information on earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics; from 1987 to present

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Find data and full-text articles and patents on chemicals and chemical compounds, including properties, reactions, and structures.
TRISOnline This link opens in a new window
TRIS Online is a public-domain, web-based version of the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) bibliographic database.
The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. TRIS does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, military transport or news articles. TRIS focuses on transportation research.

General Science and Engineering Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students.
It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.

How can I help you today?

Alvaro Quezada

Email Me

Contact:

910 Bloom Walk.
Science & Engineering Library
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0481

Subjects: Biological & Life Sciences, Earth Sciences & Geology, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy