Book Search
Beyond USC: Search Other Book Databases
Selections from USC's Collection of Pre-Columbian and Post-Contact Codices
These are the most frequently consulted codices in our collection. They have been used by undergraduate and graduate students and faculty in courses in Art History, Latin American History, Geography, Journalism and Communications and Spanish and Portuguese.
To arrange a class visit to view the codices please contact the Librarian by email at brobinso@usc.edu or by phone at (213) 821-2261.
- Antiquities of Mexico - Kingsborough, Edward King, viscount, 1795-1837
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.A672 1831 v.1-v.3 only
Complete title: Antiquities of Mexico : comprising fac-similes of ancient Mexican paintings and hieroglyphics, preserved in the Royal Libraries of Paris, Berlin, and Dresden; in the Imperial Library of Vienna, in the Vatican Library, in the Borgian Museum at Rome, in the Library of the Institute at Bologna, and in the Bodleian Library at Oxford / by Lord Kingsborough ; the drawings, on stone, by A. Aglio. Together with the Monuments of New Spain / by M. Dupaix ; with their respective scales of measurement and accompanying descriptions - Azcatitlan--Codice Azcatitlan.
Call Number: Boeckmann f1219.56.C38C63 1995 v.1 and v.2
Facsimile of a Nahuatl (Aztec) manuscript housed in the National Library of France. mid- to late-sixteenth century. It is the history of the Mexica, rulers of the Aztec Empire, from migration from Aztlan to the Spanish conquest and Christianization efforts. Commentaries in French and Spanish. - Bodley--Codex Bodley: a painted chronicle from the Mixtec highlands, Mexico.
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.54.M59J36 2005 - Borbonico--Codice Borbonico/ Codex Borbonicus.
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C43 1991
Facsimile of a major Aztec manuscript ca. 1562. In 1778 it was discovered in the Escorial Library outside Madrid and it is now housed in a library in Paris, France. It consists of four separate sections --an almanac of 260 days for predicting the future, a calendar of holidays during a year with 18 months with 20 days each. Spanish gloses were added later. - Borgia--Codice Borgia/Codex Borgianus
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.B65 1993
Vol. 1 is a facsim. of the original Codex Borgianus which consists of 1 sheet (76 p.) 29 x 1030 cm. folded to 29 x 27 cm.
Vol. 2 (394 p. ; 23 cm.) has special title: Los templos del cielo y de la oscuridad : oráculos y liturgia : libro explicativo del llamado Códice Borgia / introducción y explicación, Ferdinand Anders, Maarten Jansen, Luis Reyes García. - Boturini--Codex Boturini/ Tira de la peregrinacion: cultura mexica
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.B67C63 2002 - Cospi--Codice Cospi: calendario messicano 4093, Biblioteca Universitaria de Bolonia
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C72A35 1988 - Dresden--Codice de Dresde/ codex Dresdensis Maya
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C6215 1983
One of the few Mayan codices remaining. - Egerton or Sanchez Solis--Codices Egerton o Sanchez Solis y Becker II
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.B74C63 1994
The unbound commentary volume has special title: La gran familia de los reyes mixtecos : libro explicativo de los códices llamados Egerton y Becker II : 2895 British Museum. The full-col. facsims. are, like the originals, folded accordion style to form quasi-leaves; the 16 unnumbered leaves of the Egerton ms. facsim. are printed on both sides; the one-side facsim. of Codex Becker II has 4 leaves numbered as p. 1-4. - Fejervary-Mayer--Codice Fejervary-Mayer
Call Number: Boeckmann V1219.56.F45C63 1994
The full-col. facsim. is, like the original, folded accordion-style to form 23 quasi-leaves; the facsim. carries on its added border the modern pagination 1-22 on one side and 23-44 on the other in the reverse direction, omitting blank versos of pp. 1 and 23. The unbound commentary volume has t.p.: El libro de Tezcatlipoca, señor del tiempo : libro explicativo del llamado Códice Fejérváry-Mayer, M 12014, Free Public Museum, Liverpool, England. - Florentine Codex - Sahagun, Bernardino de
Call Number: Doheny F1219.S1319 13 v.
English translation: General history of the things of New Spain: Florentine codex. - Ixtlilxochitl--Codice Ixtlilxochitl: apuntaciones y pinturas de un historiador: estudio de un documento colonial que trata del calendario naua...
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.3.C2C65 1996
Original in the Collection Goupil, vol. 2, no. 65-71, National Library, Paris, France. - Laud--Codice Laud
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C624C63 1994
The contents of the reproduced codex, pictorial throughout, may be viewed, wholly or in part, as pictographic writing expressing Aztec (Nahuatl) concepts; the interpretive commentary is in Spanish (it includes also some thematically related texts in modern Mixtec with Spanish translation). The full-col. facsim. is, like the original, folded accordion-style to form 24 quasi-leaves; the facsim. carries on its added border the modern pagination 1(24)-24(1) on one side and 25(46)-46(25) on the other in the reverse direction, omitting blank versos of pp. 1(24) and 24(1). The unbound commentary volume has t.p.: La pintura de la muerte y de los destinos : libro explicativo del llamado Códice Laud, Misc. 678, Bodleian Library, Oxford, England. - Magliabechiano--Codex Magliabechiano
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56M33B66 1983 v.1 and v.2
Facsimile. Originally from the mid-16th century. Content: the Codex Magliabechiano and the lost prototype of the Magliabechiano group and The book of life of the ancient Mexicans. - Magliabechiano--Codex Magliabechiano and the lost prototype of the Magliabechiano group
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.M33B66 v.1 and v.2 - Mendoza--Codex Mendoza.
Call Number: Special Collections F1219.56.C625C64 1992 v.1-4
Facsimile of Nahuatl manuscript from the 16 th. century, in the Boedlian Library, Oxford, England. Vol. 1 contains revised versions of six papers originally presented at a symposium organized at the International Congress of Americanists held in Manchester, England.
See also another facsimile edition in Boeckmann entitled "Codice Mendocino." - Mexicana--Cronica Mexicana (with Codice Ramirez)
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.7.A48 1975
Cronica Mexicana was written by Hernando Alvarado Tezozomoc ca. 1598; annotated by Manuel Orozco y Berra. Included also is the Códice Ramírez, a 16th. century manuscript, entitled "Relación del origen de los indios que habitan esta Nueva España según sus historias." - Mixteca--Cronica Mixteca: el rey 8 Venado, Garra de Jaguar, y la dinastia de Teozacualco-Zaachila : libro explicativo del llamado Codice Zouche-Nuttall, Ms. 39671 British Museum, London.
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C6253A53 1991
Facsimile of a pre-Hispanic Mixtec manuscript from the current state of Oaxaca, also know as the Codex Nuttall. Unlike other codices the hieroglyphics cover both sides of the manuscript. It os one of three codices that relate to the geneaology, marriages and military deeds of Ocho Venado and related historical figures. After the conquest of the Mixtec by the Spanish, it was sent to Spain about 1522 and in 1912 it was acquired by the British Library. - Moctezuma--Matricula de tributos, o Codice de Moctezuma
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.M37 1997 - Murua--Codice Murua: historia y genealogia de los reyes incas del Peru...codice Galvan.
Call Number: Boeckmann F3429.M893 2004 v.1 and v.2
Facsimile of the post-conquest manuscript entitled Royal history and geneaology of the Inca Kings of Peru but known as the Codice Murua or Galvan. The Inca Empire, largest in pre-Columbian America, thrived from about 1438 to 1533. The earliest date mentioned in the manuscript is 1590, with material up to the early 17th century. Some of the images are purported to be in the stuyle of Guaman Poma, the noted Indian chronicler. The original is owned by a private collector. - Rios--Codice Vaticano A.3738/ Codex Rios
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.R56 1996
Commentary vol. has title: Religión costumbres e historia de los antiguos mexicanos : libro explicativo del llamado Códice Vaticano A, Codex Vatic. Lat. 3738 de la Biblioteca Apostólica Vaticana. Each leaf of the col. facsim. is folded, like the original; most bear modern numbering 1r-100v on added border. Size of the original is 30.3 x 20.3 cm. Language: The manuscript reproduced consists of both pictorgraphic writing and Italian-language text; the accompanying vol. is in Spanish. - Selden--Codex Selden 3155 (A.2)
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C6265 1964
Facsimile of a Mixtec (Oaxaca) manuscript dated ca. 1556, located in the Bodleian Library at Oxfor University which acquired it from the estate of John Selden (d. 1654). It gives the biography of Lady 6 Monkeys, the rival of Lord 8 Dear (Ocho Venado) in the Cronica Mixteca, aka the Codex Nutall. It was first published in facsimile by Oxford student Lord Kingsborough in 1831 - Techialoyan Garcia Granados--Codice Techialoyan Garcia Granados
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C79C63 1992
Facsimile of a post-conquest manuscript about Aztec geneaology from the Toluca Valley, originally on fig bark paper. Created ca. 1685-1703. - Telleriano Remensis--Codex Telleriano Remensis: ritual, divination and hisotyr in a pictorial Aztec manuscript.
Call Number: AFA F1219.56.C627Q55 1995 - Tlaxcala--El lienzo de Tlaxcala.
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.L53L54 1983
Facsimile of a lost manuscript, originally painted on a large screen or "lienzo" ca. 1585. It tells the history of Tlaxcala and its people who flourished from the 14th -15th centuries. In 1520 Cortes founded the colonial city by the same name. The manuscript shows the Tlaxcalans joining the Spanish to defeat the Aztecs. Captions on the "lienzo" are in Spanish and Nahuatl. - Vindobonensis--Codice Vindobonensis Mexicanus I
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.O84C63 1992
The facsim. reproduces two Mixtec texts in pictorial script: the pre-Colombian work on the history of Mixtec rulers Ndesa nikandukoo taka ñuu taka teyu Ñuu Sau (p. 1-52); and a genealogy of the Tilantongo dynasty (p. I-XIII); commentary volume includes transliteration and translation of both texts. - Xicotepec--Codice de Xicotepec: estudio e interpretacion
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C7486S77 - Xolotl--Codice Xolotl
Call Number: Boeckmann F1219.56.C64C63 1980 v.1 and v.2
Librarian, Latin American Studies |
Barbara RobinsonContact Info:
Doheny Memorial Library 250
(213) 821-2261
Send Email
Subjects:
Spanish and Portuguese, Latin American Studies, History: Latin America, Chicano and Latino Studies
Doheny Memorial Library 250
(213) 821-2261
Send Email
Subjects:
Spanish and Portuguese, Latin American Studies, History: Latin America, Chicano and Latino Studies



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait