Chemistry Dictionaries and References
This is a short list of available chemical dictionaries and reference sources available here at USC. These sources are important for finding reliable and authoritative chemical information.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index Online is a fully-searchable database with over 11,500 monographs on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new windowCHEMnetBASE is a collection of chemistry databases from CRC Press, which can be subscribed to individually or collectively. USC provides *10 seats* to access this resource.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new windowThis free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.
General Science and Engineering Databases
Databases are useful for searching for journal articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, patents, etc. Most times when you use a database, you will be doing topic searching. The science database listed below, Web of Science, is a very powerful tool to search across various disciplines, journals, and years.
Topic searching is only as good as the topic being entered. Before you click search, utilize Boolean terms, like AND, OR, and NOT, to help refine your search. After clicking search, use refine results tools to help narrow down the number of citations.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Chemistry Databases
Specialized chemical databases, like the ones below, provide a much more in-depth tool to find chemical information. These databases can provide literature on how to prepare compounds (preps), patents, and much more in-depth information.
These links are here for you to explore and try these resources. There will be a more in-depth tutorial in Organic Chemistry.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowThe web-version of MDL CrossFire, with additional valuable information* three databases: CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database * organic, inorganic, and organometallic structures and reactions.* synthesis planner: plans and proposes optimum synthesis route* Multi-step reactions to identify precursor reactions underlying synthesis of target compounds* Additional search capabilities such as the ability to generate structure query from names or phrases