Citation Tracking
Broadcasts/Transcripts/SpeechesCurrentHistorical
CaliforniaPublic Opinion
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* Communication Studies 

Research Guide for Communication Studies
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citation Tracking             Print Page
  

Journal Impact Factor

The impact factor is an indicator of journal quality. A measure of the frequency with which the "average article" in a journal has been cited in a particular year, the impactor factor is calculated by dividing the number of current citations to articles published in the two previous years by the total number of articles published in the two previous years. Ultimately, the impact factor will help you evaluate a journal's relative importance, especially when you compare it to others in the same field.

  • ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR Online)  
      
    Click on the "select a database" tab, and then the "Journal Citation Reports" tab. Select the "JCR Social Sciences Edition." You can browse a group of journals by category (e.g. "Communication), search for a specific journal, or view all journals.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  
      
    Click on "Cited References" and type in the journal in the box for "Cited Source." This will tell you how many times the journal got cited within articles indexed in the database. For specific article citations, type in author or title.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
    You can look for 'refereed' indicator, circulation statistics, and included abstracting/indexing services for a good indication of a journal's impact.
  • WorldCat  
    The number of libraries owning a journal is an indication of the impact and importance of the journal. Go to 'advanced search' and search by title or ISSN. Look at the 'libraries worldwide' link.
  • Essential Science Indicators  
    In-depth analytical tool offering data for ranking scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. Also includes list of "highly cited" and "hot" research papers. Essential Science Indicators has been updated as of July 1, 2009 to cover an 10-year plus four-month period, January 1, 1999-April 30, 2009.
 

Citation Analysis

 

Citation Analysis or citation tracking is a way to see the impact of an article in its field.  Also, it's a great way to use a "landmark" or influential article to find more recent, related articles that cite the landmark article.

  • ISI Web of Science  
    Select the "Web of Science" database. Then use the "Cited Reference Search" link to find articles that cite the work(s) of an author. Use the format [Last Name First Initial*] (e.g. Smith H*).
  • Wiley InterScience  
    Go to "advanced search" and use the "references" field.
  • Historical Abstracts  
    Use the "Cited References" search to find out how many times a specific article or author has been cited in the database.
  • Sage Journals Online  
    Click on "advanced search" and select the "References" field from the drop-down box.
  • CSA Databases (PsycINFO, Linguistics & Language Behavior, Sociological Abstracts)  
    Click on "advanced search" and choose the 'references' field from the drop-down menu.
  • Google Scholar  
    Search results that have been cited by others will have a link that says "Cited by [number]." Click that link to go to the citing authors.
  • Proquest Research Library  
    Click on "advanced search" and do a Citation and Document Text Search. Find the author's name in footnotes by typing FOOT (Author Last Name), e.g. to see where Antonio Damasio is cited, type: FOOT (Damasio)
 

Google Scholar Hack-Limit Forward Citation Search to last 5 years

When you use the CITED BY search option in Google Scholar, sometimes you get an overwhelming amount of results.

You can put a limit on the time period of results that come by adding the following information to the end of the url search results

&as_ylo=2005&as_yhi=

For example the following article is cited 88 times.

Towards semantically-interlinked online communities

JG Breslin, A Harth, U Bojars, S Decker - The 2nd European Semantic Web Conference (ESWC'05) …, 2005 - Springer
... At present, online communities are islands that are not interlinked. We
describe dif- ferent types of online communities and tools ...
Cited by 88 - Related articles - All 11 versions

 

Click on Cited by 88 and add &as_ylo=2004&as_yhi= to the end of the url.

 For example http://scholar.google.com/scholar?cites=4740003272686801058&hl=en&as_ylo=2004&as_yhi=

Now you have a much shorter list of 38 articles published since 2004 that cite the original Breslin article "Towards semantically-interlinked online communities".

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageAvril Cunningham
Contact Info:
213 740 2654
Send Email

Subjects:
Librarian

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait