E-Books
Quick Search & Reviews
1865 to PresentAmerican West & CaliforniaCore and General US HistoryThrough Civil War
Statistics & Data Services 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* American Studies & Ethnicity 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/americanstudiesethnicity  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference             Print Page
  
 

Find Reference Sources

There are several ways to search for reference resources on your topic.

In HOMER searches, restrict the location to REFERENCE

Search Reference Universe and other online reference resources (see the box at right)

Write a keyword search that includes the type of resource you're looking for, as in:
   ... and bibliographies
   ... and encyclopedias

 

Biographies

American National Biography Online

African American Biographical Database

Biography Resource Center

 
 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Bibliographies

Selected Online Encyclopedias

Credo Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library -- this resource includes many reference books, some of which are also available in print. Here's a sampling:

  • American Decades and American Decades Primary Sources (2001; 2004)
  • Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed. (2003)
  • Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2nd. ed. (2002)
  • Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America (2004)
  • Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America (2004)
  • Encyclopedia of the New American Nation (2006)
  • Gale Library of Daily Life: Slavery and America (2008)

A Sampling of Print Encyclopedias

Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. (Call #DT14.A37435 2005, DML; DML Ref)

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History. Mary Kupiec Cayton and Peter W. Williams, editors. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2001. (Call #E169.1.E624 2001, DML Ref)

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. Paul Finkelman, editor in chief. 3 vols. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2001. (Call #E169.1.E626 2001, DML Ref)

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century. Stanley I. Kutler, editor in chief. 4 vols. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1996. (Call #E740.7.E53 1996, DML Ref)

The Jim Crow Encyclopedia. Nikki L.M. Brown and Barry M. Stentiford, editors. 2 vols. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008. (Call # E185.61.J53 2008, DML)  

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States. Suzanne Oboler and Deena J. Gonzalez. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. (Call #E184.S75O97 2005. DML Ref)

A Sampling of Print Bibliographies, Handbooks, and Guides

The American Historical Association’s Guide to Historical Literature. New York: Oxford, 1995. 2 vols. (Call # Z6201.A55 1995; Doheny and VKC Ref; Leavey Lower Commons)

American Literary Magazines: The Twentieth Century. Chielens, Edward E. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1992. (Call #Z1231.P45A44 1992. Grand Depository)

The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture. M. Thomas Inge and Dennis Hall, eds. 4 vols. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002. (Call #E169.1 H2643 2002, DML)

Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and other Reference Works. 2nd ed., rev. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994. (Call# Z1236.P78 1994, DML)

Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide. 2nd. ed. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2004. (Call #Z6201.F72 2004; DML)

United States History: A Multicultural, Interdisciplinary Guide to Information Sources. Perrault, Anna H. Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2003. (Call #Z1236.P45 2003, DML Ref)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait