E-Books
Quick Search & Reviews
1865 to PresentAmerican West & CaliforniaCore and General US HistoryThrough Civil War
Statistics & Data Services 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* American Studies & Ethnicity 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/americanstudiesethnicity  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Archives             Print Page
  
 

California-Related Archival Collections

California Digital Library   This site "provides tools that support the construction of online information services for research, teaching, and learning, including services that enable the University of California libraries to effectively share their materials and provide greater access to digital content." Features Calisphere, Online Archive of California (see link below), access to articles, and more.

Chinese Historical Society of Southern California Digital Archive  Images of artifacts from early Chinese settlements in Los Angeles and Santa Barbara.

Huntington Library   This website provides key information about the library as well as access to its online catalogue.

LA as Subject  Hosted by USC Libraries, LA as Subject is an alliance of research archives, libraries, and collections dedicated to preserving the rich history of the Los Angeles region.

Online Archive of California  The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives.

Seaver Center for Western History Research  The purpose of the Seaver Center is to collect, preserve, and make accessible to the general public research materials documenting the history of the trans-Mississippi West, with special emphasis on Southern California and Los Angeles. The collection includes manuscripts, books, serials, pamphlets, broadsides, maps, posters, prints, and photographs.

Southern California Library  The SCL documents and preserves the histories of communities in struggle for justice and uses its collections to address the challenges of the present.

Special Collections  USC's Special Collections offer access to a wide range of primary source material in all formats, including resources of interest to researchers in Asian American Studies. Special Collections encompass rare books, manuscripts, and archival collections. In addition to housing a high proportion of rare and unique materials, Special Collections also contains many thematic special collections whose individual parts may not be 'valuable' or 'rare', but, as an aggregate, constitute a historically significant body of material. Search Special Collections 

USC Digital Library The USC Digital Archive helps to fulfill the mission of the USC Libraries to select, collect, preserve, and make accessible high quality digital images of unique materials with metadata to support research, and provides a gateway to resources on Los Angeles and Southern California.

 

Archive-Related Databases and Web Sites

Archives USA  The ArchivesUSA database provides information about primary source materials from nearly 4,800 US manuscript repositories. ArchivesUSA includes records, complete with detailed indexes, about nearly 109,000 manuscript and other special collections.

Archiving Early America: Historic Documents from 18th Century America  Numerous links to historic American Documents such as the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, the Declaration of Independence (Freedom Documents). Many original scanned images are also available.

Historical Text Archive: History of the United States  The HTA publishes high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects. It was founded in 1990 in Mississippi and is one of the oldest history sites on the Internet.

Internet Archive  Offers permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format, including texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.

Library of Congress Finding Aids  Allows users to search for materials in the Library of Congress's repositories and collections.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)  Established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt to permanently preserve the nation's most important documents, NARA's major holdings date back to 1775. They capture the sweep of the past: slave ship manifests and the Emancipation Proclamation; captured German records and the Japanese surrender documents from World War II; journals of polar expeditions and photographs of Dust Bowl farmers; Indian treaties making transitory promises; and the Louisiana Purchase Treaty that doubled the territory of the young republic. NARA keeps only those Federal records that are judged to have continuing value—about 2 to 5 percent of those generated in any given year; however, this amounts to billions of pages of documentation.

National Security Archive  An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.

WorldCat  WorldCat contains more than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

World History Archives  World History Archives, by Hartford Web Publishing, offers documents to support the study of world history from a working-class and non-Eurocentric perspective.

WPA Maps Digital Archive  The Works Progress Administration (WPA) conducted a land use survey from December 18, 1933 to May 8, 1939 for the city of Los Angeles, Department of City Planning. It covered approximately 460 square miles within the boundary of the City of Los Angeles and resulted in this series of 345 hand-colored land use survey maps. They are collected in 10 books (averaging 35 maps per book) each corresponding to a geographic region within the City's boundary. Each original map measures bout 2 ft. x 3.5 ft.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait