General US History
American Centuries: View from New England
American Local History Network
American Social History Online
Brief Timeline of American Literature and Events, pre-1650 to 1920
Brown University Steering Committee on Slavery & Justice
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Chronology of US Historical Documents
Disability History Museum Library
Documenting the American South
E Pluribus Unum Project: America in the 1770s, 1850s, and 1920s
Electronic Documents in History
Electronic Text Center: The Modern English Collection (1500-present)
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Emigration and Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Harpweek (1857-1912)
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
Presidential Recordings Program
Presidents of the United States (POTUS)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Regional Oral History Office (UC-Berkeley, Bancroft Library)
Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture
Windows on the Past (Cornell University Library)
Core Primary Source Sites
American Memory -- This Library of Congress collection provides free and open access to a wide range of primary source material documenting American history and culture, including text, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Its collections are as follows:
Advertising (6 Collections)
African American History (17 Collections)
Architecture and Landscape (9 Collections)
Cities and Towns (13 Collections)
Culture and Folklife (35 Collections)
Environment and Conservation (3 Collections)
Government and Law (24 Collections)
Immigration and American Expansion (13 Collections)
Literature (7 Collections)
Maps (11 Collections)
Native American History (6 Collections)
Performing Arts and Music (33 Collections)
Presidents (14 Collections)
Religion (8 Collections)
Sports and Recreation (10 Collections)
Technology and Industry (14 Collections)
War and Military (29 Collections)
Women's History (7 Collections)
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two
Avalon Project, Document Collection, Yale Law School
Densho.org -- Densho documents the experience of Japanese Americans who were incarcerated during World War II, providing access to digitized internment camp newspapers, firsthand accounts, video interviews, and more (you'll need to sign up for a free account to use this).
History Matters -- This site, created by the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning (CUNY) and the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) contains a wealth of primary source material, research guidance, and annotated Web links.
Library of Congress (in addition to the American Memory links listed above). Some of its many collections include:
American Folklife Center
Chronicling America: American Historic Newspapers
Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
Declaring Independence: Drafting the Documents
The Gettysburg Address
Library of Congress Web Archives
Life Photo Archive This collaboration with Google provides access to millions of photographs, from the 1750s on, most of which were never published.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Making of America (Cornell University)
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Africana & Black History (image collection)
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century (text collection)
After Columbus: Four-hundred Years of Native American Portraiture (image collection)
American Popular Song Sheet Covers, 1890-1922 (image collection)
Charting North America: Maps from the Lawrence H. Slaughter Collection and Others (image collection)
Cigarette Cards: ABCs (image collection)
Civil War Medical Care: Photographs from the United States Sanitary Commission Collection, 1861-1872 (image collection)
NYPL Digital Gallery (image collection)
Early Landscape Photography of the American West (image collection)
Ellis Island Photographs, 1902-1913 (image collection)
Lewis Wickes Hine: Documentary Photographs, 1905-1938 (image collection)
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience (text and image collections)
The "Pageant of America" Photograph Archive (image collection)
Picturing America, 1497-1899: Prints, Maps, and Drawings (image collection)
Surveyors of the American West (text collection)
Taking the Wheel: Manufacturers' Catalogs from the First Decade of American Automobiles
World War I Photograph Albums and Postcards
NUCMC Repositories of Primary Sources
University of Washington
Native American History
Voice of the Shuttle Extensive portal of History sites
Many Thanks
I am most grateful to Theresa Mudrock of the University of Washington Libraries for her extensive collection of primary source links, from which I learned of many of the resources in this guide.
To view her History resources, go to http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/history.
Librarian |
Sue Tyson213-740-7044
Send Email
Subjects:
US & Canadian History, American Studies, African American Studies, Asian American Studies, American West, Native American Studies





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait