1865 to Present
The sites on this page are subdivided into categories:
General (these span more decades than the other subdivisions)
Reconstruction: 1865-1877
Post-Reconstruction; Gilded Age; Progressive Era; Jazz Age: 1877-1929
Great Depression; New Deal; and World War II: 1929-1945
Post-World War II
General
Ad*Access Project The Ad*Access Project (Duke) presents images and information for thousands of ads printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911-1955.
Alcohol, Temperance & Prohibition This Brown University collection presents broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets, and government publications gathered over three centuries to researchers interested in the history of alcoholism and how the media and arts spread ideas and information.
American Social Hygiene Posters, 1910-1970 Part of the University of Minnesota's Social Welfare History Archives, this site lets you search posters by subject, keyword, and date.
Anti-Saloon League This site, developed by the Westerville Public Library, presents primary materials donated to the library by the League, which played a key role in American politics from 1893-1933.
Archives of Irish America A repository of primary research materials at New York University that treats the Irish migration experience and the distillation of American Irish ethnicity over the past century.
Chicago History Museum Online Collections Collections of interest include The Great Chicago Fire; Haymarket Affair Digital Collection; Studs Terkel; and History Files, which include materials on Al Capone, the Pullman Era, the 1893 and 1933 Expositions, and the Chicago Stockyards.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 Duke University Libraries' collection presents over 9,000 images relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
Famous Trials of the 20th Century Compiled by Douglas O. Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, this resource provides primary source and other materials concerning some of the 20th Century's key trials.
Image Archive of the American Eugenics Movement This project presents primary source material from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor, "the center of American eugenics research from 1910-1940."
The Oyez Project A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States, its justices, and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
Prelinger Archives (Internet Archive) These archives contain over 4,000 films, many produced by or for hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
Transportation History Collection: Railroads This site, produced by the University of Michigan Special Collections Library, contains a wealth of primary sources from the 19th and 20th centuries, including railroad company annual reports; the monthly periodical Locomotive World; pamphlets; and more.
United States and its Territories, 1870-1925: The Age of Imperialism This University of Michigan Library site provides the full text of monographs and government documents concerning the Spanish-American war published in the United States, Spain, and the Philippines between 1870 and 1925.
Walter P. Reuther Library Oral History Collection Created in collaboration with the Michigan Oral History Association, this database, devoted to labor history and other topics, allows subject searching or browsing of images, audio clips, and collections.
Reconstruction: 1865-1877
Freedmen and Southern Society Project This project of the University of Maryland draws on materials from the National Archives of the United States to document people's movement from slavery to emancipation.
Impeachment of Andrew Johnson This Harpweek site compiles over 200 excerpts from Harper's Weekly concerning the 1868 Johnson impeachment.
Post-Reconstruction; Gilded Age; Progressive Era; Jazz Age: 1877-1929
Class and Leisure at America's First Resort: Newport, Rhode Island, 1870-1914 This University of Virginia site provides photos and other resources for studying class and leisure in the Gilded Age via particular attention to this seaside resort.
The Feather Trade and the American Conservation Movement This online exhibit by the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of American History provides information and images on the 19th-Century feather trade; hunting and collecting; and the rise of the Audobon Movement in the 1890s.
Gilded Age and Progressive Era The links compiled on this site by Tennessee Technological University's Department of History provide information about this period from many angles, including general resources; political leaders; transformation of the West; literature and culture; and more.
The Red Scare Archive This site, produced by the Baruch College Library, provides access to images of the post-World War I Red Scare.
The Samuel Gompers Papers This University of Maryland site provides access to the papers of this seminal figure in labor history, the U.S.'s leading trade unionist in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and president of the American Federation of Labor from 1886 to 1924.
The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire This online exhibit, produced by Cornell University and its School of Industrial and Labor Relations, provides primary and secondary materials concerning the 1911 fire.
Great Depression, New Deal, and World War II: 1929-1945
America in the 1930s Developed by the American Studies program at the University of Virginia, this site provides a timeline as well as film, print (from newspapers and books to cartoons), audio clips, and more.
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers (George Washington University) The Eleanor Roosevelt Papers provides access to her writings, including columns, correspondence, articles, speeches, and more.
Historic Government Publications from World War II This Southern Methodist University site provides access to documents from a wide range of government agencies, including the Office of Civilian Defense; the Department of Labor Children's Bureau; the War Production Board of the US Government Printing Office; and more.
New Deal Network This site, originally developed by the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute, provides a database of primary materials, including images and texts, gathered from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library, the National Archives and Records Administration, the Library of Congress, and other sources.
Post World-War II
Brown v. Board of Education Digital Archive This archive, developed by the University of Michigan Library, contains documents and images concerning Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools.
Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive Developed by the University of Southern Mississippi Library, this is a fully searchable database of archival resources on race relations in Mississippi.
Cold War Files (George Washington University) This site, developed by the George Washington University Cold War Group in cooperation with the Cold War International History Project, seeks to integrate new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War which has been written over the past few decades largely by Western scholars reliant on Western archival sources by providing access to primary source materials.
Free Speech Movement This site, produced by the University of California-Berkeley's Bancroft Library, documents key moments and figures in the Free Speech Movement of the mid-1960s.
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Documents This site, the FBI's Electronic Reading Room, provides access to many FOIA and other historical FBI documents, browsable alphabetically or by subject.
National Security Archive An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
The Sixties Project Primary Documents Archive This site, produced by the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities at the University of Virginia, provides access to poetry, exhibits, personal narratives, and other primary source material. The site also includes transcripts of testimony from the Winter Soldier Investigation of 1971.
The Vietnam Center & Archive This archive, developed by Texas Tech University, provides access to over 2.7 million pages of documents, including photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids.
Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection This University of Washington Library collection provides access to leaflets and newspapers that were distributed on the University of Washington campus during the decades of the 1960s and 1970s.
Librarian |
Sue Tyson213-740-7044
Send Email
Subjects:
US & Canadian History, American Studies, African American Studies, Asian American Studies, American West, Native American Studies





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait