E-Books
Quick Search & Reviews
1865 to PresentAmerican West & CaliforniaCore and General US HistoryThrough Civil War
Statistics & Data Services 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* American Studies & Ethnicity 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/americanstudiesethnicity  Print Guide  RSS Updates

American West & California             Print Page
  
 

California

"California as I Saw It": First-Person Narratives of California's Early Years, 1849-1900 This American Memory site provides full text and illustrations of 190 works documenting the formative era of California's history through eyewitness accounts. The collection covers the dramatic decades between the Gold Rush and the turn of the twentieth century. It captures the pioneer experience; encounters between Anglo-Americans and the diverse peoples who had preceded them; the transformation of the land by mining, ranching, agriculture, and urban development; the often-turbulent growth of communities and cities; and California's emergence as both a state and a place of uniquely American dreams.

California Heritage Collection This site, produced by the University of California-Berkeley's Bancroft Library, provides access to over 30,000 images illustrating California's history and culture, culled from almost 200 collections.

California State Library -- The State Library is California's public research library; along with its catalog, its site serves as a gateway to many research resources, including many accessible online.

Calisphere This University of California/California Digital Library site provides access to primary resources covering California history from 1848 on; resources include several themed collections, such as Gold Rush, Emerging Industrial Order, and Social Reform.

Gold Rush! California's Untold Stories Produced by the Oakland Museum of California, this site provides access to images from several exhibits concerning this era.

Huntington Library This website provides key information about the library as well as access to its online catalogue.

LA as Subject Hosted by USC Libraries, LA as Subject is an alliance of research archives, libraries, and collections dedicated to preserving the rich history of the Los Angeles region.

Online Archive of California The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives.

Southern California Library The SCL documents and preserves the histories of communities in struggle for justice and uses its collections to address the challenges of the present.

USC Digital Archive The USC Digital Archive helps to fulfill the mission of the USC Libraries to select, collect, preserve, and make accessible high quality digital images of unique materials with metadata to support research, and provides a gateway to resources on Los Angeles and Southern California.

Web de Anza This site provides students and scholars with primary source documents and multimedia resources covering Juan Bautista de Anza's two overland expeditions from the Sonoran desert to northern California, leading to the colonization of San Francisco in 1776.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait