E-Books
Quick Search & Reviews
1865 to PresentAmerican West & CaliforniaCore and General US HistoryThrough Civil War
Statistics & Data Services 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* American Studies & Ethnicity 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/americanstudiesethnicity  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Article Databases             Print Page
  
 

Selected Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile (Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP)

Alternative Press Index Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change

Arts and Humanities Search Records referencing many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals 

CQ Library Full text access to CQ Weekly and CQ Researcher

Ethnic NewsWatch Provides access to full text from newspapers, magazines, and journals from a diversity of viewpoints not seen in the mainstream media. Choose Interdisciplinary--Ethnic Newswatch under "Databases"

GenderWatch Provides full text access to publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Choose Interdisciplinary--Genderwatch under "Databases"

Left Index Indexes over 150 journals covering political, social, economic, and cultural issues

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Key database for newspaper, legal, medical, and business information

LBGT Life Resource to literature concering Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, Transgender, and Transsexual issues

ProQuest Research Library Key multidisciplinary database providing fulltext access to magazine and newspaper articles, scholarly journal articles, reports, and dissertations, as well as citations

Web of Science Multidisciplinary database that includes Social Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Wilson Omnifile Key multidisciplinary database providing citations and full text, book reviews, and more

Women's Studies International Covers several bibliographic women's studies databases in the core disciplines

 

 
 

Core Article Databases

America: History and Life  The definitive index of articles and other literature covering the history and culture of the US and Canada, from the 15th century to the present

History Cooperative  The History Cooperative is a pioneering nonprofit humanities resource provided by the University of Illinois Press, the Organization of American Historians, and JSTOR offering top-level online history scholarship

JSTOR  A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature, biology

WorldCat  WorldCat contains more than 32 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

 

Databases in Related Disciplines

The following provides a selection of databases from related areas, and is not intended to be comprehensive. For a more comprehensive list of databases in the many fields that comprise American Studies and Ethnicity, please view our lists of Selected Resources by Subject and our Research Guides.

ARTBibliographies Modern Covers modern and contemporary art produced since the invention of photography

ATLA Religion Database Comprehensive database supporting theological and religious scholarship

Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals Comprehensive index to literature on architecture and architectural design

Bibliography of Native North Americans Contains citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present

Bibliography of the History of Art  The most comprehensive bibliography for art history available worldwide

Black Studies Center A fully cross-searchable gateway to African American Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, key literatue indexes, historical newspaper articles (from core publications such as Chicago Defender), and much more

Chicano Database A major bibliographic database covering humanities and social science topics

Environmental Policy Index Database A comprehensive database to journal articles covering all aspects of environmental policy and politics

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

History Resource Center US Provides access to over 4,000 historical documents, reference articles, and over 100 full-text journals covering topics from pre-Colonial times to the present

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text Full text index of 375 international music periodicals

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text Covers nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly articles to snapshots of popular culture

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory A guide to criticism from classical antiquity to the present

Linguistics Abstracts Online Access to abstracts from virtually all linguistics articles published since 1985

Literature Online (LION) A fully searchable library of over 300,000 works of English and American literature, plus criticism and reference

Literature Resource Center Provides biographies and criticism on over 90,000 authors, literary movements, and genres from every age and literary discipline 

MLA Bibliography Index to scholarly publication in language, linguistics, literature, and folklore

Philosopher's Index Indexes articles from over 500 periodicals in English and in other languages 

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines

Urban Studies Abstracts Provides abstracts and citations for articles concerning urban studies

Wilson Art Full Text

Wilson Humanities Full Text

Women's Studies International Covers several bibliographic women's studies databases in the core disciplines

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait