Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

Women's and Gender Studies 

This is a guide to selected reference sources in women's and gender studies available at the USC Libraries.
Last update: Sep 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/gender_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Secondary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Advanced HOMER Search

 
 

Select Sources

ATLA Religion.
An index to articles in religion.

Anthropology Plus.
An index to articles in anthropology from several thousand sources.

Contemporary Women's Issues.
Provides access to global information on women. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agency reports, and fact sheets. Includes links to full text articles for many publications. Topics covered are education, reproductive rights, gender equity, women's health, human rights, women's legal status, women's status in the workplace, etc. Covers over 150 countries.

ERIC, 1966-.
The most comprehensive coverage of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.

GenderWatch.
A repository of full text materials related to gender studies; emphasis particularly in the social sciences and gender theories. Includes many small publications.

Historical Abstracts and America History and Life.
Two indexes to articles in history, one covering non-US history from 1450 onward, the other covering the Americas.

Humphreys, Nancy K. American women's magazines: an annotated historical guide. New York: Garland, 1989.
Doheny Reference Z6944.W6H85 1989

JSTOR.
A collection of many scholarly journals online.

Proquest and Lexis/Nexis.
These two databases cover newspapers, journals, and magazines in a variety of fields.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses.
As of 2006 included are approximately 650,000 titles, with around 55,000 titles added each year. Covers the United States, and provides full text for dissertations from 1996 to present and for many dissertations prior to 1996.

PsycInfo and PsycArticles.
These two databases cover the field of psychology.

Sociological Abstracts.
An index to articles in sociology.

University of Wisconsin Women’s Studies Librarian’s Website.
Information on publications and publishers, magazines, programs and research centers, and women’s organizations.

Victorian Database Online.
Interdisciplinary in coverage, contains information on publications from 500+ journals on Painting, Architecture and Music; Philosophy and Religion; Histories of England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, and the British Colonial Empire; Sociology, and Women.

ViVa: a Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies, 1975-.
A current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history. Articles published in English, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish are selected from approximately 200 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals.

The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900.
tables of contents of Victorian periodicals which include identification of contributors, with bibliographies of their articles and stories. Part of Nineteenth Century Index, which includes Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait