American FactFinder
-- interactive application supports access to data from the Economic
Census, the American Community Survey, the 1990 Census, Census 2000,
and the latest Population Estimates.
Demographia
-- this web site contains the world's most comprehensive data on large
urban area population density as well as specialized data from the
censuses of France, Japan, Italy, the United Kingdom, Canada, the
United States and other nations. The site also specializes in urban
development, urban land use policies, and the "New Urbanism," with data
and analysis generally critical of so-called "smart growth." Provides
comprehensive information from all over the world on these and many
other topics related to the built environment.
Geospatial One-Stop
-- a geographic information system (GIS) portal that serves as a public
gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data. The
portal contains thousands of metadata records (information about the
data) and links to live maps, downloadable data sets, images,
clearinghouses, map files, and more.
National Historical Geographic Information System
-- provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible
boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000. NHGIS
includes state and county statistical data from 1790-2000; census tract
statistical data from 1910-2000; historic state and county boundary
files (1790-2000) and census tract boundary files (1910-2000); all
summary data (at all summary levels, including census blocks) from
1970-2000; and, County Business Patterns data from 1970-2000.
Real Estate Sales Statistics
-- a state-by-state compendium of existing and pending home sales data
and metro area home prices published on a quarterly basis. Produced by
the National Association of Realtors, the site also includes local
economic indicators.
Regional Economic Conditions (RECON)
-- a database of economic statistics that helps the FDIC evaluate the
risks facing financial institutions. It includes the following data:
Industry Activity, Employment and Income, Real Estate Activity,
Selected U.S. Commodity Prices, and County Location Maps.
SimplyMap -- a web-based mapping application that enables users to create professional-quality
thematic maps and statistical reports using demographic, business, and
marketing data. NOTE: you can create your own user space or log on as a
general user.
State of the Cities Data Systems
-- produced by HUD, this is an excellent site to find information on
cities. It manipulates data from various federal agencies and produces
useful municipal data sets including, fair market rents, income limits,
metropolitan American housing survey data, Section 8 administrative
fees, etc. The Quick Link option will enable you to find all these
datasets and more for one particular city.
University of Virginia
Historical Census Browser
-- an online database that allows you to examine state and county
topics for individual census years, search multiple topics within a
census year, produce tables of data by state or county, sort data by
selected categories, and create ratios between any two data categories
of historical census data. Information is not downloadable and does not
include areas below the county level (e.g. cities, census tracts).