Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* Urban & Regional Planning 

Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of urban planning and its related sub-disciplines.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/urban_planning  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles in Databases            Print Page
  
 

Finding Articles in Databases

Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support the study of urban planning and its related sub-disciplines. For a more comprehensive list, go here.

  • America: History and Life -- a database that covers the history of the United States and Canada. It includes key English-language historic journals, selected historic journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and selected relevant journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals -- comprehensive index to the literature of architecture and architectural design, including urban planning and design. Surveys more than 700 U.S. and foreign journals, including publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
  • EconLit -- an index of economic literature. Subject indexing and abstracts of journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers.
  • Environmental Policy Index -- a comprehensive database to journal articles covering all aspects of environmental policy and politics. Includes coverage of the impact of nuclear waste and cleanup.
  • GEOBASE -- a database providing citations and abstracts to over 2,000 scholarly journals in the earth, ecological, and geographical sciences, with many citations rfelevant to issues of development and urban and regional planning.
  • Historical Abstracts -- a database that covers history of the world from 1450 forward. Excludes the U.S. and Canada. Includes key history journals from major countries, as well as relevant selected journals from the social sciences and humanities. All abstracts are in English.
  • ICONDA -- the International Construction Database contains over 400,000 references to international books, research reports, conference proceedings, business reports and non-conventional literature concerning to all aspects of planning and building from twenty three countries.
  • Journal of Planning Literature -- comprehensive index to recent books and journal articles in the field of city and regional planning and design. Difficult to locate relevant articles but worth a try because it is focused exclusively on urban planning and its related sub-disciplines.
  • Sage Urban Studies Abstracts -- provides access to critical developments on all aspects of urban studies. Topics covered include trends in urbanization, urban history, housing and real estate, land use, transportation, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and general theory and research.
  • SimplyMap -- a web-based mapping application that enables users to create professional-quality thematic maps and statistical reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. NOTE: you can create your own user space or log on as a general user.
  • Transportation Research Information Services [TRIS] Online -- contains almost half a million records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, and on-going research in the field of transportation.
  • ULI Development Case Studies -- feature project reports of innovative residential, retail, office, industrial, and mixed-use projects. Each profile report includes a complete description of the project; the challenges faced and the lessons learned; distinctive features that set it apart from the ordinary, sales, rent, and cost data; and illustrations of the site and building plan.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait