AfricaAsiaEuropeMiddle EastSouth America/Caribbean
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* International Relations 

A guide of useful links to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/international_relations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Organizations/Think Tanks            Print Page
  
 
 

U.S. and General Organizations/Think Tanks

For a discussion of the goals, political tendencies, and influence levels of major think tanks and "the first comprehensive ranking of the world’s top think tanks, based on a worldwide survey of hundreds of scholars and experts," GO HERE.

  • American Academy of Diplomacy -- mission to foster high standards of qualification for, and performance in, the conduct of diplomacy and the foreign affairs of the United States.
  • Amnesty International – an international non-governmental organization which defines its mission "to conduct research and generate action to prevent and end grave abuses of human rights and to demand justice for those whose rights have been violated.
  • Arms Control Association -- a national nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to promoting public understanding of and support for effective arms control policies.
  • Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies -- research institute focused on the study of American foreign policy, national security, international politics, political economy, environmental policy, and international organization.
  • The Atlantic Council -- promotes constructive U.S. leadership and engagement in international affairs based on the central role of the Atlantic community in meeting the international challenges of the 21st century.
  • Beyond Intractability -- a searchable online database of texts, articles, interviews, references, and links about the nature, characteristics, and underlying causes of conflicts, including issues of international conflict resolution.
  • Bonn International Center for Conversion -- an independent, non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and facilitating peace and development.
  • The Brookings Institution -- a nonprofit public policy organization that conducts independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that strengthen American democracy; foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.
  • Buffett Center for International and Comparative Studies -- sponsors and facilitates collaborative interdisciplinary scholarship on crucial problems facing the world.
  • Business and Human Rights Resource Centre -- the world’s leading independent resource on the subject.  The website irovides updated news and reports about companies’ human rights impacts worldwide.
  • Canadian International Council -- a non-partisan, nationwide research council established to strengthen Canada's foreign policy.
  • Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs -- organization devoted to promoting ethical leadership on issues of war, peace, religion in politics, and global social justice.
  • Carnegie Endowment for International Peace -- a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States.
  • The Carter Center -- in partnership with Emory University, this organization is committed to advancing human rights and alleviating unnecessary human suffering.
  • Cato Institute -- provides policy advice and analysis to increase the understanding of public policies based on the principles of limited government, free markets, individual liberty, and peace.
  • Center for Cold War Studies and International History -- an international center dedicated to the study of the Cold War era. It promotes discussion and scholarship on topics related to the study of the Cold War, broadly conceived.
  • Center for Comparative and International Studies -- organization focused on the study of national political systems and the study of international politics and the complex interconnections between domestic, international and transnational political processes, structures, and institutions.
  • Center for Defense Information -- provides expert analysis on various components of U.S. national security, international security and defense policy.
  • Center for Global Development -- an independent, nonprofit policy research organization that is dedicated to reducing global poverty and inequality and to making globalization work for the poor.
  • Center for Global Security Research -- investigates the relationship between national security issues and technology related topics, such as, ballistic missile proliferation, nuclear deterrence, and weapons-of-mass-destruction terrorism.
  • Center for International Development and Conflict Management -- an interdisciplinary research center that seeks to prevent and transform conflict, to understand the interplay between conflict and development, and to help societies create sustainable futures for themselves.
  • Center for International Policy -- participates in influencing U.S. role in Central America's post-conflict reconciliation, the effort to end the counter-productive isolation of Cuba, and military assistance to the Western Hemisphere on improvements in governance and increased respect for human rights.
  • Center for International Security and Cooperation -- an interdisciplinary university-based research and training center that addresses some of the world's most vexing security problems with policy-relevant solutions.
  • Center for International Strategy, Technology, and Policy -- provides a venue for scholars, policy analysts, scientists, technical experts, practitioners, and community leaders to explore innovative approaches to issues situated at the nexus of science, technology, and international affairs.
  • Center for a New American Security -- an organization with a goal of developing a strong, pragmatic, and principled national security and defense policies that promote and protect American interests and value.
  • Center for Security Policy -- a non-profit, non-partisan national security organization that specializes in identifying policies, actions, and resource needs that are vital to American security interests.
  • Center for Security Studies --  based in Zurich, this is an academic institute specializing in research, teaching, and the provision of services in international and national security policy.
  • Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments -- an independent, non-partisan policy research institute established to promote innovative thinking and debate about national security strategy and investment options.
  • Center for Strategic and International Studies – a bipartisan, nonprofit organization that conducts research and analysis and develops policy initiatives focused on defense and security, regional stability, and transnational challenges ranging from energy and climate to global development and economic integration.
  • Center for Systemic Peace -- supports scientific research and quantitative analysis in many issue areas related to the fundamental problems of violence in both human relations and societal development.
  • Center for the Study of Force and Diplomacy -- fosters interdisciplinary faculty and student research on the historic and contemporary use of force and diplomacy in a global context.
  • Centre for Defence and International Security Studies -- a wholly independent organisation engaging in research, analysis, commentary and discussion on issues of significance within the broad context of international security.
  • Centre for Foreign Policy Studies -- an organization concerned with teaching, research, publishing, and policy advisingin the fields of Canadian and American foreign, security and defense policy, maritime security policy, and human security and global development studies.
  • Centre for International Studies and Research -- a French research institute focused on comparative politics, international relations and international political economy.
  • Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies -- promotes interdisciplinary research and teaching on the causes of conflict and the conditions that affect conflict resolution and peace. Research projects and other activities focus on the resolution of conflict with a view to attaining just societies.
  • Centre for Refugee Studies – fosters interdisciplinary and collaborative research focused on several wide-ranging and interconnected areas of study related to refugee issues and the field of forced migration. In carrying out this research, CRS networks with Canadian and international development agencies and academic institutes.
  • Centre for the Study of Terrorism and Political Violence -- an organization dedicated to the study of the determinants, manifestations and consequences of terrorism and other forms of political violence.
  • Chatham House -- an organization devoted to a independent analysis and informed debate on a variety of issues in international affairs.
  • Combating Terrorism Center at West Point -- contributes relevant scholarly perspectives, research, and policy analysis to combat terrorist threats to the United States with an emphasis in four primary areas: terrorism, counterterrorism, homeland security, and weapons of mass destruction.
  • Conflict Research Unit: Clingendael Security and Conflict Programme -- conducts research on the nexus between security and development, with a special focus on integrated and comprehensive approaches on conflict prevention, stabilization, and reconstruction in fragile and post-conflict states.
  • Council on American-Islamic Relations -- a nonprofit advocacy group with a mission to enhance understanding of Islam, encourage dialogue, protect civil liberties, empower American Muslims, and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.
  • Council on Foreign Relations -- a nonpartisan and independent membership organization that provides information and analysis about world events and American foreign policy.
  • Development Gateway -- an international nonprofit organization with the mission to reduce poverty and enable change in developing nations through information technology.
  • Digital Freedom Network – a international, non-partisan non-profit group that seeks to promote human rights as an attainable goal for all countries. DFN publishes censored material on its Web site.
  • FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends) -- integrated databases containing information from research institutes around the world.  Covers armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditures, armed forces and conventional weapons holdings, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics, etc.
  • Foreign Policy In Focus -- is a think tank that provides timely analysis of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs and recommends policy alternatives.
  • Forum of Federations -- an independent organization that is concerned with the contribution federalism makes and can make to the maintenance and construction of democratic societies and governments.
  • Freedom House -- an independent nongovernmental organization, supports the expansion of freedom in the world.
  • Global Policy Forum -- an independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations and scrutinizes global policymaking.
  • Global Security.org -- research institute that seeks to reduce reliance on nuclear weapons and the risk of their use offers news, opinion, and analysis on many major issues of global security and American foreign policy.
  • Homeland Security Institute -- a federally funded research and development center of the Department of Homeland Security focused on counterterrorism, border security, enforcement of immigration laws, and disaster preparedness, response, and recovery.
  • Homeland Security Policy Institute -- a nonpartisan think tank whose mission is to build bridges between theory and practice to advance homeland security research through an interdisciplinary approach.
  • Inter-Parliamentary Union – international organization of established in 1889 that focuses on  world-wide parliamentary dialogue and works for peace and co-operation among peoples and for the firm establishment of representative democracy.
  • International Action Network on Small Arms -- global network of civil society organizations working to stop the proliferation and misuse of small arms and light weapons, with much information on the small arms proliferation issue and the campaign against them.
  • International Assessment and Strategy Center -- an independent, non-partisan think-tank focused on medium and long-term security issues and their impact on the security of the United States and her key allies.
  • International Boundaries Research Unit -- works to enhance the resources available for the peaceful resolution of problems associated with international boundaries on land and at sea, including their delimitation, demarcation and management.
  • International Campaign to Ban Landmines -- a global network in over seventy countries that works for a world free of antipersonnel landmines and cluster munitions.
  • International Centre For The Study of Radicalisation And Political Violence -- an independent and non-partisan devoted to challenging the growth of radicalization and political violence throuhgoput the world.
  • International Crisis Group - Brussels-based private, multinational organization with over 80 staff members on five continents, working through field-based analysis and high-level advocacy to prevent and contain conflict. Organization produces a number of useful research reports available full-text on the web site.
  • International Development Research Centre - Canadian Crown corporation that works in close collaboration with researchers from the developing world to help developing countries use science and technology to find practical, long-term solutions to the social, economic, and environmental problems they face. Offers free online books.
  • Institute for Conflict Analysis and Resolution -- research institute committed to the development of theory, research, and practice that interrupt cycles of violence.
  • Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses -- a non-partisan, autonomous body dedicated to objective research and policy relevant studies on all aspects of defense and security.
  • Institute for Defense Analyses -- a non-profit corporation that administers three federally funded research and development centers to assist the United States government in addressing important national security issues, particularly those requiring scientific and technical expertise.
  • Institute for Science and International Security --  a non-profit, non-partisan institution dedicated to informing the public about science and policy issues affecting international security.
  • Institute for War and Peace Reporting – an organization devoted to building peace and democracy through free and fair media.
  • Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation -- studies a wide range of topics involving security, environmental, and economic policies that shape our ability to prevent conflict and promote cooperation across the globe.
  • James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies -- strives to combat the spread of weapons of mass destruction by training the next generation of nonproliferation specialists and disseminating timely information and analysis.
  • Mershon Center for International Security Studies -- fosters interdisciplinary research on national security in a global context.
  • National Committee on American Foreign Policy -- center identifies, articulates, and helps advance American foreign policy interests from a nonpartisan perspective within the framework of political realism.
  • National Democratic Institute -- a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization working to support and strengthen democratic institutions worldwide through citizen participation, openness, and accountability in government.
  • Nixon Center – objective is to develop guiding principles for the United States’ global engagement in a dramatically new international environment, principles which would combine hard-headed pragmatism and fundamental American values.
  • North American Institute -- a private, not-for-profit organization founded to deepen understanding of, and to promote new approaches to, all aspects of the North American regional relationship.
  • Nuclear Control Institute -- a research and advocacy center for preventing nuclear proliferation and nuclear terrorism.
  • Nuclear Threat Initiative -- to develop new frameworks and approaches for addressing the most urgent global threats from nuclear, biological and chemical weapons in order to prevent terrorists from getting a nuclear bomb and to strengthen global health and security.
  • Overseas Development Institute -- an independent think tank in Britain focused on international development and humanitarian issues.
  • Peace Research Center -- a a private, non-governmental organization dedicated to the multi-disciplinary analysis of such international issues as armed conflict (its causes, consequences and actors), conflict prevention, conflict resolution and the reconstruction process.
  • Peterson Institute for International Economics -- a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution devoted to the study of international economic policy.
  • Project on Defense Alternatives -- offers critical analysis of U.S. defense policy, as well as those of other nations, to adapt military policy to the circumstances of the post-Cold War era, with pragmatic, cost-effective alternative defense policy options that support progress toward more cooperative means of attaining security.
  • RAND Corporation -- a nonprofit institution that studies national security issues and issues involving health, education, civil and criminal justice, labor and population studies, and international economics.
  • Refugee Studies Centre – a leading multidisciplinary centre for research and teaching on the causes and consequences of forced migration based at Oxford University.
  • Royal United Services Institute -- an independent think tank engaged in in cutting edge defense and security research.
  • Stimson Center -- a nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to enhancing international peace and security and reducing weapons of mass destruction and transnational threats.
  • Stockholm International Peace Research Institute  -- an independent research institute focusing on international security, arms control, and disarmament.
  • Terror Free Tomorrow: The Center for Public Opinion -- organization that conducts polling about why people support or oppose extremism and uses this data to create effective policies to counter extremism worldwide.
  • Terrorism Research Center -- an independent institute dedicated to the research of terrorism, information warfare and security, critical infrastructure protection, homeland security, and other issues of low-intensity political violence and gray-area phenomena.
  • Terrorism, Transnational Crime and Corruption Center -- a research center devoted to understanding the links among terrorism, transnational crime and corruption.
  • Transnational Foundation for Peace and Future Research -- an independent think tank that promotes conflict-mitigation and reconciliation in general and in selected conflict regions and promote alternative security and global development based on nonviolent politics, economics, sustainability and ethics of care.
  • Triangle Institute for Security Studies -- consortial research center which aims to advance research and education in the field of national and international security.
  • United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research -- an autonomous institute within the United Nations that conducts research on disarmament and security with the aim of assisting the international community in their disarmament thinking, decisions and efforts.
  • United States Institute of Peace - an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created and funded by Congress to strengthen the nation's capacity to promote the peaceful resolution of international conflict. Site highlights include Peace Agreements Digital Collection, with full texts of peace agreements related to worldwide inter- and intra-state conflicts since 1989 and the USIP Library that has assembled various collections of links to various other resources.
  • World Economic Forum -- an independent, international organization devoted to improving the state of the world by engaging leaders in partnerships to shape global, regional and industry agendas.
  • World Policy Institute -- an educational and public policy institute engaged in policy research and public education on critical world problems and U.S. international policy.
  • World Security Institute -- a non-profit organization committed to providing news and research-based analysis on the social, economic, environmental, political and military components of international security.
  • Worldwatch Institute -- informs policymakers and the public about emerging global problems and trends and the complex links between the world economy and its environmental support systems.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait