Research Guides by Topic
United Nations
Databases/Documents Collections
Legal Structure
Charter-based bodies
-
Commission on Human Rights (replaced by the Human Rights Council)
Treaty-based bodies
There are eight human rights treaty bodies that monitor the implementation of the core international human rights treaties:
- Human Rights Committee (CCPR)
- Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR)
- Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD)
- Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)
- Committee Against Torture (CAT) & Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture (OPCAT) - Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture
- Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC)
- Committee on Migrant Workers (CMW)
- Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD)
Other important United Nations agencies concerned with law and human rights:
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
- Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)
- Inter-Agency Internal Displacement Division
- International Labour Organization
- World Health Organization
- United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
- Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)
- Inter-Agency Standing Committee (IASC)
- DESA (Department of Economic and Social Affairs)
- Commission on the Status of Women (CSW)
- Office of the Special Adviser on Gender Issues and the Advancement of Women (OSAGI)
- Division for the Advancement of Women (DAW)
- United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
- United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)
- United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
- United Nations Human Settlements Programme (HABITAT)
- United Nations Mine Action
Open Access Law Journals
- Amsterdam Law Forum
- Anuario Mexicano de Derecho Internacional
- Asian-Pacific Law & Policy Journal
- Australian Journal of Human Rights
- BMC International Health and Human Rights
- Duke Environmental Law & Policy
- Duke Journal of Comparative and International Law
- European Journal of Legal Studies
- Forced Migration Review
- Göttingen Journal of International Law
- Harvard Human Rights Journal
- Human Rights and Human Welfare
- Human Rights Brief
- Journal of International Commercial Law and Technology
- Law, Environment and Development Journal
- Law, Social Justice and Global Development
- Northwestern University Journal of International Human Rights
- Peace, Conflict and Development
- Revista de Bioética y Derecho
- SUR - International Journal on Human Rights
- Utrecht Law Review
- War Crimes, Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
- Zeitschrift für Internationale Strafrechtsdogmatik
Current Awareness and Blogs
Legal Databases
The following databases access legal research.
- British and Irish Legal Information Institute -- a full-text database of British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
- HeinOnline -- full text access to digitized content of major legal periodicals, the Federal Register, and other law-related materials.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals -- a multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide.. The database covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
- LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe -- a database that includes full text access to law review journals, federal and state case law, European Union Cases, and the complete contents of the International Legal Materials publication from the American Society of International Law.
- Martinus Nijhoff Online -- a database indexing the book content of Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, a leading publisher of imprints in international law and human rights law. Use the database to locate titles that can then be searched in the HOMER catalog or the Law Library's catalog, ADVOCAT.
- World Legal Information Institute [WorldLII] Database -- an open access database of Internet-accessible legislation, constitutions, statutes, case law, superior or high court decisions, journals, treaties, law reform, domain name decisions, secondary materials, and related legal material from around the globe.
Internet Resource Guides
Below is a select list of web sites with links to additional resources on international law.
- Cornell Law School: Legal Information Institute
- FLAG Foreign Law Guide
- Foreign Primary Law on the Web
- Global Legal Information Network
- Globalex: Foreign Law; Subject Law Collections on the Web
- Guide to Law Online: Nations of the World
- Harvard International Legal Studies Library: International, Foreign and Comparative Law Research Guides
- Jurist: World Law
- Legal Research on International Law Issues Using the Internet
- NYU Guide to Foreign and International Legal Databases
- University of Chicago: Foreign & International Law
- Washburn University: Foreign & International Law
- WorldLII: World Legal Information Institute
- World Law Guide
Human Rights Law Resource Gudies
Below is a select list of web sites with links to additional resources on human rights law.
International Environmental Law
Below is a select list of web sites with links to additional resources on internatiional environmental law.
Treaties
Listed below are open access databases that provide links and texts to treaties and foreign law.
- Flare Index to Treaties -- a searchable database of basic information on over 1,500 of the most significant multilateral treaties from 1856 to the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the Internet.
- Global Legal Information Network --a database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
- GlobaLex -- comprehensive and specific research guides with links to sources in the areas of International, Comparative and Foreign Law.
- The Multilaterals Project -- an ongoing project to make available the texts of international multilateral conventions and other instruments.
- United Nations Treaty Series -- a full-text database for the United Nations Treaty Collection.
- United States Treaties Search -- this database contains US treaties on THOMAS, the legislative information site. Complete coverage begins with the 94th Congress. Older treaties are included if they were pending in 1975 when the database was created.
- World Intellectual Property Association Administrated Treaties -- includes links below provide detailed information on all 24 treaties administered by WIPO including the WIPO Convention
International Courts and Tribunals
Listed below are standing institutions intended to settle disputes between sovereign States through binding decisions based on international law:
Criminal Bodies
- Ad Hoc Court for East Timor
- Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia
- International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
- International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia
- Special Court for Sierra Leone
- Special Tribunal for Lebanon
- War Crimes Panel in Bosnia-Herzegovina
Organizations
Regional Bodies
Africa
- African Court on Humans and People's Rights
- Arab Maghreb Union (AMU/UMA) Judicial Authority
- Common Market of Eastern and Southern African (COMESA) Court of Justice
- East African Community (EAC) Court of Justice
- Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS/CEEAC) Court of Justice
- Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC) Court of Justice
- Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS/CEDEAO) Court of Justice
- Organization for the Harmonization of African Business Law (OHADA/OHABLA) Common Court of Justice and Arbitration
- Southern African Development Community (SADC) Tribunal
- West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU/UEMOA) Court of Justice
Americas
- Caribbean Court of Justice
- Court of Justice of the Andean Community
- Inter-American Court of Human Rights
- System of Central American Integration
Arbitration
- International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
- North American Free Trade Agreement
- Permanent Court of Arbitration
Europe




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait