Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Notice
8/25/09: We are in the process of making changes to the "Browse by Subject" navigation bar on the
LibGuides home page.
* International Relations
A guide of useful links to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009
URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/international_relations
Print Guide
- Avalon Project -- site contains digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics,
Politics, Diplomacy and Government accompanied by links to
supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
- CAIN: Conflict and Politics in Northern Ireland -- this site contains information and source material on 'the Troubles' and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present.
- Cold War International History Project -- disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources from the former Communist world.
- Constitution Finder
-- a database that offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and
other related documents. Nations of the world are linked to their
constitutional text posted somewhere on the Internet.
- Declassified Documents Reference System -- full text access to formerly U.S. government classified documents from a wide variety of government agencies including the CIA,
Department of State, National Security Council, Department of Defense,
FBI, etc.
- Digital National Security Archive -- contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government
documents available. The resource now includes 31 collections
consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents.
- Documents Diplomatiques Suisses -- this Swiss database has over 3650 online documents relating to international relations and diplomacy during and after World War II.
- Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy -- Lists of documents compiled by Vincent Ferraro, Ruth Lawson Professor of International Politics at Mt. Holyoke College.
- Eldis
-- an online clearinghouse from the Institute of Development Studies,
Sussex that aims to share the best research in development, policy,
practice, and research. Site includes access to a growing collection of
editorially selected, full-text documents on global development and
policy, resource guides that provide structured access to research and
policy documents, and country profiles that link to country briefing
services on other websites.
- Foreign Relations of the United States
-- digital archive of the official documentary historical record of
major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and
edited for publication by the State Department's Office of the
Historian.
- Gifts of Speech -- a
non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to
preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational,
influential, and contemporary women from around the world.
- Homeland Security Digital Library -- a comprehensive collection of current and
archived Homeland Security resources--all in digital format--from
federal, state and local agencies, leading national and international
organizations, think tanks, universities, and more.
- IGLOO Library
-- an online repository containing over 20,000 electronic documents
covering a broad range of topics within the field of International
Governance and built on the contributions of over 150 academic
institutions, research centres, governmental departments and
non-governmental organizations from around the world.
- International Documents Collection -- compiled by Northwestern University Library, this site contains the publications of approximately 25 intergovernmental
organizations (IGOs), a few non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and
supporting materials from private publishers.
- Multilaterals Project
-- texts of international multilateral conventions and other
instruments, including environmental agreements, and treaties on human
rights, commerce and trade, laws of war and arms
control, and other areas.
- National Security Archive -- an independent non-governmental research institute and library located
at George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes
declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information
Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records
on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign,
intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
- Presidential Library System -- a nationwide network of Presidential libraries beginning with Herbert Hoover each preserving and making
accessible the papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents.
- United Nations Documents System -- official repository for documents published by the United Nations. The
full text of parliamentary documents and official records from 1992 to
present are accessible in all
official languages of the United Nations. Full text of resolutions from
all UN bodies are available from 1946 to the present.
- Vietnam Center and Archive -- site dedicated to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia. Posts millions of documents, images and other materials such as results of the Oral History Project.
- World Bank Publications & Documents
-- provides access to the World Bank's formal publications. Holds over
15,000 free, downloadable documents, including operational documents
(project documents, analytical and advisory work, and evaluations),
formal and informal research papers, and most Bank publications. Also
provides archival access to official records of the Bank's work from
1946 to the present, including country files, project files,
correspondence, film, videos and photos.