Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Notice
8/25/09: We are in the process of making changes to the "Browse by Subject" navigation bar on the
LibGuides home page.
* International Relations
A guide of useful links to databases and scholarly web sites in support of research in international relations.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009
URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/international_relations
Print Guide
- BBC News Country Profiles -- supplies information on the history, economy, and politics of countries and territories as well as maps, facts, and current leaders. Each profile includes links to news items on that country that have appeared on the BBC network.
- Countryrisk.com --
provides links to sites giving country background information, statistics, and
country analysis resources
that rate everything from levels of corruption to investment risks in countries worldwide.
- Country Studies
-- each study provides a description and analysis of the historical
setting and the social, economic, political, and national security
systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. At present,
101 countries and regions are covered spanning the decade 1988-98.
Search engine can be used to find information across all countries or
any combination of countries.
- Economist Intelligence Unit [EIU] Country Reports
-- a source of business intelligence on political and economic trends
in 180 countries. An overall profile of each country is provided
annually and a current report is produced quarterly. Both include
current detailed statistics.
- Foreign Information by Country
-- compiled by the University of Colorado Libraries, this site provides
links to government agencies, background information, diplomatic
relations, and other resources by topic for all of the countries of the
world.
- Human Development Report Country Factsheets -- site contains country-level data available for review and download from the United Nation's annual Human Development Report.
- Index of Economic Freedom -- a site sponsored by the Heritage Found that measures ten components of economic freedom, assigning a grade in each using a
scale from 0 to 100, where 100 represents the maximum freedom. The ten
component scores are then averaged to give an overall economic freedom
score for each of 183 countries studied. For the first time, the 2009 edition also analyzes regions to showcase the freest economies in every part of the world.
- Library of Congress Country Studies Area Handbooks -- provides extensive information on over 91 countries, describing and analyzing political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. and includes photographs, maps, and charts.
- Portals to the World
-- contains links providing authoritative, in-depth information about
the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country
or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad
categories. Sites are selected by subject specialists at the Library of
Congress.
- Worldwide Governments on the WWW
-- one of the most extensive lists of international, national,
regional, and local governmental and government-related Web servers. It
covers governmental institutions on the Web, including parliaments,
ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public
broadcasting corporations, central banks, multinational organizations,
and political parties. Arranged in a hierarchical index organized by
continent, country, and smaller divisions with thematic groupings such
as heads of states, parliaments, political parties, elections, and
currency.