Locating Images
Interested in advertisments and images? Check out the following resources:
- Ad*Access
- Duke University Libraries Digital Collection, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
- AP Images (USC Database)
- The AccuWeather Educational Division and the AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive are dedicated to providing teachers, students, faculty and library patrons with access to reliable and trustworthy online information for learning.
- ARTstor (USC Database)
- Provides access to almost a million high quality images of art and photography.
- Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920
- Duke University Libraries Digital Collection advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- LIFE Photo Archive
- Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google
Subject Guide
Chimene Tucker
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
213-740-2332
Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies