Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* Russian Language & Literature 

This guide to select sources is useful primarily for graduate and undergraduate students who are studying Russian or Soviet literature and linguistics.
Last update: Aug 25th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/russianlit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biographical Sources             Print Page
  
 

Advanced HOMER Search

 
 

17th-18th Centuries

Levitt, Marcus C. (ed.) Early modern Russian writers; late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 150. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 1995.

LOCATION: Available through the Literature Resources Center

 

20th Century

Kalb, Judith E. Russian Writers of the Silver Age, 1890-1925. Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 295. Gale, 2004.

LOCATION: Available through the Literature Resources Center

 

Kasack, Wolfgang. Dictionary of Russian literature since 1917. New York: Columbia University Press, 1988.

LOCATION: Reference Center Z2500.K3513 1988

Covers 619 famous Russian and Soviet writers and 87 literary concepts. Each entry cites primary and selected secondary works.

 

Nikoliukin, A. N. Literaturnaia entsiklopediia russkogo zarubezh'ia, 1918-1940. 2 volumes. Moskva: ROSSP·EN, 1997

LOCATION: Reference Center PG3515.L59 1997

 

Rydel, Christine (ed.) Russian Prose Writers After World War II. Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 302. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 2004

LOCATION: Available through the Literature Resources Center

 

Rydel, Christine (ed.) Russian Prose Writers Between the World Wars. Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 272. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 2002

LOCATION: Available through the Literature Resources Center

 

Russkie pisateli 1800-1917; biograficheskii slovar'. Moscow: Sovetskaia entsyclopediia, 1989-

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2991.3.R85 1989

Still being published.

Stevanovic, Bosiljka, and Vladimir Wertsman. Free voices in Russian literature, 1950s-1980s; a Bio-bibliographical guide. New York: Russica, 1987.

LOCATION: Reference Center Z2503.S84 1987

Over 900 writers born in the USSR whose works were unpublished in that country but appeared in Russian emigre presses between 1957 and 1985.

 

General

Marina Ledkovsky, Charlotte Rosenthal, and Mary Zirin (eds.) Dictionary of Russian women writers. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1994.

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2997.D53 1994

Covers over 400 Russian women writers from before 1885 through 1992. Includes bibliographies on each writer.

 

Russkii biograficheskii slovar'. 25 vols. Sankt Peterburg: V. Demokov, 1904. Reprinted by New York: Kraus, 1962.

LOCATION: Reference Center CT1203.R7 1962

 

Terras, Victor. Handbook of Russian literature. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1985.

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2940.H29

Articles on individual writers, literary terms, genres, societies, periodicals, and important anonymous works. Many entries include a bibliography.

 

Weber, Harry. The Modern encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet literature. Gulf Breeze: Academic International, 1977-

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2940.M6

Encompasses Russian and Soviet writers, as well as literary criticism. Volumes still being published.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait