Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* Russian Language & Literature 

This guide to select sources is useful primarily for graduate and undergraduate students who are studying Russian or Soviet literature and linguistics.
Last update: Aug 25th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/russianlit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries             Print Page
  
 

advanced HOMER search

 
 

Historic Language Dictionaries

Akademiia nauk SSSR. Institut russkogo iazyka. Slovar' sinonimov russkogo iazyka. 2 vols. Leningrad: Nauka, 1970.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2591.S6

Akademiia nauk SSSR. Institut russkogo iazyka. Slovar' sovremennogo russkogo literaturnogo iazyka. 17 vols. Moskva: Izdatel'stvo Akademii nauk SSSR, 1950-65.

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2625.A533

Referred to as the Bol'shoi akademicheskii slovar', this is the major dictionary for Modern Standard Russian from Pushkin's time onward. A second updated edition in 20 volumes is in progress (Reference Center, PG2625.A533 1991)

Avanesov, R. I., and S. I. Ozhegov, eds. Russkoe literaturnoe proiznoshenie: slovar' spravochnik. 5th ed. Moskva: Prosveshchenie, 1972.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2137.A9 1967

Guide to Modern Standard Russian pronunciation.

Dal', V. I. Tolkovyi slovar' zhivogo velikorusskogo iazyka. 3rd ed. Revised by J. A. Baudouin de Courtenay. 4 vols. St. Petersburg: Izdatel'stvo T-va M. O. Wol'f, 1912-14.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2625.D318

Indispensable for pre-1917 Standard Russian and for dialect, slang, proverbs and sayings.

Fasmer, Maks. Etimologicheskii slovar' russkogo iazyka. 4 vols. Moscow: Progress, 1986.

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2580.V317 1986

This etymological authority includes cognates from archaic vocabulary, Old Church Slavic and Russian Church Slavic forms, and regionalisms.

Filin, F. P. Slovar' russkikh narodnykh govorov. 33 vols. Moskva: Akademiia nauk SSSR. Institut russkogo iazyka. Slovarnyi sektor, 1965.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2735.A48

This is a work on the special lexicon of Russian dialects of the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes a 145-page bibliography of source materials.

Flegon, A. Za predelami russkikh slovarei. London: Flegon, 1973.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2691.F4 1973

A dictionary of Russian slang and obscenities.

Galler, M., and H. E. Marquess. Soviet prison camp speech: A survivor's glossary. Hayward: Soviet Studies, 1977.

LOCATION: Doheny Stack PG2691.G3 1977

Over 1100 entries from the prison camp language. The introduction outlines the development of prison camp speech.

Gribble, C. E. Slovarik russkogo iazyka 18-go veka. Cambridge: Slavica Pubs., Inc., 1976.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2625.G7

Only words that do not appear in Modern Standard Russian are treated in this differential dictionary of 18th century Russian. It does not pretend to be comprehensive; rather, it aims to be strictly practical.

Grot, I. A., A. A. Shakhmatov, and V. M. Istrin, eds. Slovar' russkogo iazyka. 1891-1935. 16 vols. Reprint. London: Flegon Press, 1984.

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2625.S55 1984

Dictionary goes through the letter "O"; it was never printed thereafter.

Nikitina, T. G. Tolkovyi slovar’ molodezhnogo slenga. Moscow: Astrel’, 2003.

LOCATION: Reference Center PG2752.N56 2003

Sreznevskii, I. I. Materialy dlia slovaria drevne-russkogo iazyka po pis'mennym pamiatnikam. 3 vols. and supplement. St. Petersburg: Imp. Akademiia nauk, 1893-1912.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2667.S7

Russian Church Slavic terms taken from 11th to 15th century sources are treated in this work.

Zemtsov, I. Sovetskii politicheskii iazyk . London: Overseas Publications, 1985.

LOCATION: Doheny Stacks PG2611.Z42 1985

Intended as a "guide" to Soviet culture, this dictionary analyzes the ideological content of terms in their application to Soviet life.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait