Article Quick Search
The following sources are being searched:
- ACM Digital Library (ACM Portal)

- Aerospace & High Technology Database

- Applied Science & Technology Full-Text via OmniFile

- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts

- Engineering Information Village 2

- GeoRefS

- History of Science, Technology and Medicine

- IEEE Explore

- PubMed (Medline) @USC

- Science Citation Index Expanded™(Web of Knowledge)

General Science and Engineering Databases
- CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences
All science disciplines with searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature from 1997 to present - Expanded Academic ASAP
Multidisciplinary undergraduate literature index including engineering and technology titles from 1980 - present - JSTOR Health & General Science Collection
Archive of important scholarly journals in science fields - ProQuest Research Library
Scholarly, popular, and newspaper articles from 1980's to present
Primary Databases
Databases with broad-ranging engineering coverage:
- Engineering Village 2

Simultaneous searching with links to fulltext, when available for Compendex and Inspec. Compendex provides over 10 million citations to journals and conference proceedings across all engineering disciplines from 1884 - to the present.
Inspec includes citations and indexed abstracts for electrical engineering, computer science, information technology, mechanical engineering, materials science and physics with coverage from 1896 - to the present. Updated weekly- Xplore (IEEE Electronic Library)
Full text IEEE publications (journals and conference proceedings) and over 900 IEEE standards; from 1988 to present (some content back to 1950's)- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)
Provides Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports, and Essential Science Indicators databases. Searches citations in major journals across scientific disciplines. Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others- Applied Science and Technology (AST) Full Text (Wilson OmniFile)
Indexing and fulltext access to 200 journals covering chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy-related disciplines, engineering, mathematics and physics, Index covers from 1983 - present- ACM Digital Library

Full-text primary literature of computing and computer science published by Association for Computing Machinery (ACM); from 1954 to present- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Literature in health science, biological and biomedical fields produced by National Library Medicine; from 1960 to present - Xplore (IEEE Electronic Library)
Secondary Databases
Databases with a more specific focus:
- Aerospace & High Technology Database (Full archive)
Primary literature (journals, reports issued by NASA, and other U.S. government agencies) in aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences, chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics; approximately from 1962 to present; updated monthly - ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Abstracts of publications from America Society of Civil Engineering; from 1970 to present - BIOSIS Previews World's most comprehensive database for life sciences from 1950 to date.
- CERN Document Server (CDS)
Abstracts (and fulltext) of literature in particle physics and related areas - Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Abstracts and citations of literature in earthquake engineering and earthquake hazards mitigation; from 1971 to present; updated monthly - Energy Citations Database
Indexes energy-related literature sponsored by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors, the Energy Research and Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC); relates to the print equivalent Nuclear Science Abstracts - ICONDA (International Construction Database, via silverplatter)
- MathSciNet
Indexes of mathematical research literature published in the Mathematical Reviews; from 1940 to present - NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) Abstract Service
The Digital Library for physics and astronomy funded by NASA and supported by Stanford University; search primary literature in Astronomy and Astrophysics , Physics and Geophysics, arXiv Preprints, Science Education - Norris Medical Library Resources
Databases covering biomedical engineering and health-related research - PubMed@USC
Access information in health science and medical fields from MEDLINE, and PreMEDLINE; from 1950 to present - Quakeline
Information on earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics; from 1987 to present - Reaxys (Beilstein & Gmelin, Patent Chemistry Database) Organic chemistry database from Beilstein, and Inorganic Chemistry from Gmelin (required download a local file to access); organic synthesis, material science, biomedical engineering
- SPIE Digital Library Optical engineering and science (optics and photonics); full-text technical reports, SPIE journals and conference proceedings; from 1990 to the present.
- TRIS Online
Transportation research bibliographic database funded by sponsors of the Transportation Research Board (TRB); from 1960's to present (or varies)
Librarians
Jean Crampon
crampon@usc.edu
(213) 740 4421
Najwa Hanel
nhanel@usc.edu
(213) 740 4419
Norah Xiao
nxiao@usc.edu
(213) 740 2214
Distance Education Network (DEN) students: please contact Norah Xiao, the DEN Librarian, with your questions.
The Engineering Librarians:





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait