USC Industry Information Databases
- LOOK HERE FIRST:
- IBISWorld Detailed market research and analysis for U.S., China and Global markets
- MarketResearch.com Academic Detailed reports from multiple publishers.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Reports are listed under 'Industry Surveys' drop down menu
- Global Market Information Database Passport/GMID by Euromonitor. International industry, company and market information
- Mint Global Industry research includes reports from Datamonitor and MarketLine
- Mintel Reports (Mintel Oxygen) Mintel Oxygen provides detailed market research reports in the areas of Beauty & Personal Care, Drink, Food, Leisure & Entertainment, Lifestyles, and Retailing and Apparel. Users must create a personal account and reports can only be downloaded one section at a time.
- ISI Emerging Markets Coverage of emerging economies and BRICS with locally sourced industry information
- ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:
- Advertising Red Books
- Business & Company Resource Center
- eMarketer
- EStatement Studies Provides financial ratios and other information on many industries.
- Forrester Technology and market research from Forrester Research, Inc. focusing on the business implications of technology change.
- Gartner USC/netID/webmail password required for access. USC does not have full access to all reports.
- Hoovers Online
- RDS Business Suite Tablebase provides business statistics and tables extracted from a wide variety of sources
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
- SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service Standard Rate and Data Service compiles contact information and ad rates for a variety of media sources
- Tablebase - see RDS Business Suite
- Thomson ONE Use 'Research' and then 'Advanced Research' to perform industry research.
- WARC Previously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) Compustat provides industry index information: Select Compustat - Monthly Updates - Select Region - Select Index Prices. Use 'Company Codes - Code Lookup to find industry specific codes
Financial Databases at USC
This is a list of the key business databases at USC. Another list with the WRDS datasets broken out can be found here.
- EStatement Studies The online version of the Annual Statement Studies, produced by the Risk Management Association (RMA), includes financial ratios on over 760 industries, industry default probabilities and cash flow measures
- Hoovers Online Create a list of IPOs by price, offer, date, size, underwriters, industry, geography, etc. by using 'Build A List' tab. Begin at IPO Data
- Mergent Horizon Provides financial data and highlights the relationships between a company's major customers, suppliers, partners and competitors, details the hierarchies of company products and services, analyzes data for sector aggregates, generates M&A scenarios and much more..
- Mergent Online US and international company data, annual reports, and financial data.
- Mergent WebReports Online access to scanned images of the Moody's/Mergent manuals. These provide financials, corporate histories, business descriptions, and information on subsidiaries, officers, and municipal debt in some cases back to the early 1900's.
- Mint Global US and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Orbis with a different interface).
- Morningstar Direct Global investment database and analytics. See library staff or Center for Investment Studies for access information. Available through Marshall network.
- Orbis US and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).
- OSIRIS Web version of publicly listed company information from Bureau van Dijk
- SDC GuideThe vendor's step-by-step M&A Guide for SDC.
- SDC Platinum Find data on M&A's, IPO's, global new issues and venture capital funding. On-campus access on the USC Marshall network, see instructions. Off-campus access is available via Citrix on MyMarshall. See SDC M&A Guide above.
- SEC EDGAR This is the public website for company filings with US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) such as 10Ks and 10Q's, 8K's , Schedule 13Ds, tender offers, various Registration Statements and other documentation.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Business, investment and financial information including industry surveys.
- Thomson ONE This only works with Internet Explorer. Find analyst reports on publicly traded companies and some industry analysis from key brokerage firms.
- Value Line Access to Value Line's publications covering industries, stocks, mutual funds.
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) Collection of databases designed for standardized quantitative analysis. Available datasets include Audit Analytics, Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, Bureau van Dijk & BvD Trial, CBOE Indexes, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CUSIP, Corporate Library, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, EVENTUS, FDIC, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, First Call, GSIOnline, IBES IRI, MFLINKS, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Order Execution, TAQ and Thomson Reuters.
- Zephyr International M&A, IPO and venture capital deals with links to company information from Bureau van Dijk.
- LIMITED ACCESS DATABASESSee Library staff for information on access
- Bloomberg Specialized workstation. See library staff or Center for Investment Studies for access information.
- Datastream A financial database available for Faculty and PhD research provided through a virtual lab system. Please contact the Marshall Help Desk for access and review the instructions found here.
- Capital IQ
Conferences and Conventions
These public sites can help find professional conferences and conventions for a wide range of industries:
- AllConferences.com
- Confab - the conference community
- Conference AlertsScroll down to Business & Economics
- ConferenceLocate
- TRADE FAIRS & EXHIBITS
- BizTrade Shows
- Meetingsnet
- Eventseye
- International Association of Fairs & Exhibitions
- TradeShowDirectory
- Trade Show News Network
- SPECIALIZED CONFERENCES
- A.M. Best - InsuranceSee 'Conferences & Events' on left side of landing page
- Financial ConferencesConferences, Training, Test Prep & Online Courses
- LanyrdConferences on Social Media, Software, Mobile, Mobile Web
- PLI - Practicing Law Institute
- TechVenue.comIndex to conferences and local meetings
Local Industry (1930)

Photograph of multiple factory workers completing a final inspection on tires, ca.1930 (Los Angeles). From the USC Digital Library.
Industry Research Tips
To understand a company an its competitors, you need to understand the industry of which it is a part, even if you are looking for information about a niche industry.
Finding information about an industry includes the following steps:
- Get an overview of the industry (market research, industry summaries)
- Look for articles on trends and see if you can find forecasts
- Gather statistics from government agencies and trade associations
- Contact trade associations for additional information about an industry
Potential problems:
- Each information tool uses its own industry groupings and covers different industries. Data from one source may not match another resource, both in terms of data and definition of an industry.
- Small industries are often reported as part of larger industries in government data and other information sources. Look for targeted market research to address these markets
- Quality, availability and cost of association information varies widely. some of it is only available to members, and some data can be free.
- Emerging industries can be difficult to research. Data may not be available and trends may not have been established.
USC Articles Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global
- Academic OneFile
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This database can only be accessed via MyMarshall.com
- Emerald Journals A Full Text Management Research Database with over 35,000 management articles.
- Factiva Go to 'Search' , then 'Search Builder'. Expand on Industries, select Industry, or sub-Industry. Adding terms to your search terms, like trends, forecasts, and dates will help limit results. You can refine your results once you see some of your results.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibrarySelect 'Business' and scroll down to the latest editions of : Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Industries - General Business File ASAP
- JSTOR
- LexisNexis Academic News articles as well as business, medical and legal information
- ProQuest - Multiple Databases
- Wilson Business Full Text
- Value Line Provides a one page industry overview
Financial Norms & Ratios
The following databases have finanical norms and ratios by industry. Links to the databases can be found under USC Indstry Information or Financial Information Databases in the left hand column
- eStatement Studies
- Orbis: Search different ratio variables by industry
- ValueLine: Industry snapshots contain select ratios, click on 'Standard Edition" then 'Industry Look-Up'
- Hoover's: Contains comparative ratios for companies that are benchmarked against their primary industry as a whole
See Crocker Library Industry Reference below for Reference materials
Crocker Library Industry Reference Books
Many resources use the Standard Industry Classification (SIC) codes that were developed to track data on American Industries. The codes were updated by a new systems called NAICS: the North American Industry Classification System, which includes the U.S., Canada and Mexico. However, many resources still use SIC codes as well. Pubic websites for SIC and/or NAICS codes are listed in the box below
Public Links
Head, Crocker Business Library and Accounting Library |
Contact Info Crocker Business Library USC Marshall School of Business Hoffman Hall 201 (213) 740-7621 juricek@usc.edu Send Email |
Business Librarian |
Contact Info Crocker Business Library USC Marshall School of Business 701 Hoffman Hall, HOH 201E (213) 740-0050 haraldss@usc.edu Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Business |
Business Information Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Business |
Government Industry Information including NAICS & SIC Codes
- North American Claissification System - NAICS. - U.S. CensusThis site provides a detailed descriptions of the direction relationships between classification systems. e.g. NAICS to SIC's, NAICS 2007 to 2012, NAICs to ISIC (International Standard Industrial Classification).
- U.S. Census - Industry Snapshots by NAICs Codes
- U.S. Census - Industry Statistics SamplerInformation by 2-digit NAICs Code
- BLS - Bureau of Labor Statistics - Industry Projections
- BLS - Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Matrix Search by Industry
Find an Association - BCRC
Professional associations can be very helpful in learning more about an industry or profession. Although full access if often reserved for paid members, associations often provide information to the public in the form of summary reports press releases. Examples of professional associations include Advertising Professionals of Los Angeles, the American Society of Cinematographers, the American Medical Association and the California Solar Energy Industries Association to name just a few.
Follow the steps below to locate a professional association.
1. Go to the Business & Company Resource Center database
2. Select the button for "Advanced Search"
3. Go to the dropdown list for "Content Area" and select "Associations"
4. Enter your search terms based on the choices provided in the three dropdown lists. Try searching for a word that is found in the industry description or in the name of the association. Also, you may wish to specify "USA" in "Country" field or you will be searching for international associations as well. Try different combinations of search terms and keywords to find the association you need.
SEE SCREENSHOT BELOW
Find an Association Search Box - BCRC
Gale Directory Library
To locate professional associations and other types of organizations, you can also search the Gale Directory Library available through the USC Libraries E-Resources. This database contains the Encyclopedias of Associations (under "Organizations") as well as other reference works.


Loading...
