USC International Business Databases
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowAll reports are "global" but contain regional analysis with some individual country data.
- EIU Viewpoint (Economic Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new windowContains Country Reports, Country Commerce Reports and more from the Economist Intelligence Unit.
- EMIS This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage of emerging economies in Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America including articles, financial statements, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowBusiness travel guide and country background information.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowDetailed market research and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries as well as Global Industry Reports, China Industry Reports and Business Environment Reports.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowPEST analyses evaluate external opportunities and threats for a business, looking at Political, Economic, Social and Technological factors. Search by "PEST analysis" and country to find PEST analyses for 210 countries under the Analysis tab.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowOffers three major sources (federal, state and international) of statistical data tables, publications and links.
- US Commercial Service Market Research LibraryInternational market research and country commercial guides available from the US Government. Registration is required for academic users.
- USA Trade Online This link opens in a new windowDescribes the use of Trade Stats Express and USA Trade Online for official US government import and export statistics.
- World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank's World Development Indicators provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to present.
Public Websites for Country Information
- Bank for International SettlementsCentral Bank websites and Central Bank Research Hub
- CIA World Factbookbasic information on issues for 266 countries (history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, etc)
- Economist - SearchSearch The Economist website by country for articles published about them.
- Global InsightsMichigan State database that provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the US, approximately two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
- Grant Thornton International Business Reportinsights into international business based on the world’s leading survey of mid-market companies.
- International Monetary Fund - Country ReportsEconomic and banking news and profiles
- International Trade CentreData and analysis from an organization that supports small businesses in developing countries
- Legatum Prosperity Indexannual ranking of 167 countries which uses 300 indicators to measure the current state of prosperity in each country and how it has changed over the past decade.
- LexMundi Country Guidesbackground information for corporate counsels on working in 100+ countries, compiled by local independent law firms.
- OECDone of the world's largest and most reliable sources of global statistical, economic and social data.
- Office of the U.S. Trade RepresentativeCountry specific data on trade, exports, and investments.
- PKF - Doing Business incountry reports published by a global network of accountancy firms.
- U.S. Census Bureau: International Statistical AgenciesNational Statistical Offices by country
- U.S. international trade statistics - export.govcurrent and historical U.S. goods trade data
- U.S. State Department - Bilateral Relations Fact Sheetsreports on US relations with other countries
- UNDP - Human Development ReportsReports, Indices & Data by Country on Human Development (e.g. Health, Education, Income, Gender, Poverty, Sustainability and Inequality
- World BankSocial and Economic statistics and special reports.
- World Bank Business Ready (B-READY)A new report benchmarking the business environment and investment climate in most economies worldwide.
- World Bank Doing Business archivenow discontinued, Doing Business measured business regulations for local firms in 190 countries.
- World Economic ForumSearch for country insights, global trade analysis, global risk, and other international topic reports.
Books on China
Search USC Libraries Catalog for "CHINA AND BUSINESS" or "CHINA AND CULTURE" to locate books on these topics. Try other search terms as well. Note: If a book is checked out, it can take up to two weeks to recall. You can find full-text books online through eBrary.
China's Next Strategic Advantage by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2016Available in hard copy: LIPA HC430.T4 Y57 2016
China's Disruptors: how Alibaba, Xiaomi, Tencemnt, and other companies are changing the rules of business by Call Number: Doheny HC427.95 .T74 2015Publication Date: 2015
Created in China: how China is becoming a global innovator by Call Number: LIPA HC430.T4 H36 2016Publication Date: 2016
Regional China: a business & economic handbook by Call Number: LIPA HC427.G862013Publication Date: 2013
Sustainable Champions: how international companies are changing the face of business in China by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2015
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Asia by Call Number: Business Ref. HF5389 .M667 2007Publication Date: 2007.
Additional China Subscription Data Sources
In addition to US and Global industry reports, IBISWorld provides detailed reports on select Chinese industries. USC Libraries also has subscription access to China Data Online.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowClick on the "China Industry Reports" link to only search that module, or simply keyword search to retrieve all related reports from all modules.
USC Article Databases
Search for articles written about business in a specific country in ABI/Inform, Factiva and Lexis/Nexis Academic. Some possible topics are "COUNTRY NAME" or INDUSTRY TRENDS and Name of Country" Use database search tools (Search Builder, Advanced Search or Search Options) to limit by location (geography or region). Search for articles written about business in locally published publications listed under media.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal and much more.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness news database. Search COUNTRY NAME by selecting 'SU Subject Terms' from drop down menu
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowGood source of current news. You can limit your search to publications by country by going to the Search Builder then limit your search by "Region"
- Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new windowAnother good source of international business news, go to Power Search, then limit search by "Geography"
Local News Sources
- China Business ReviewPublished by the U.S. China Business Council in English
- China Economic ReviewA monthly magazine published in Hong Kong covering business, finance and economics in China.
- China Daily USAState run daily in English
- Online Newspapers in ChinaList of online newspapers/news sources in China
- China Core Newspapers Database (CCND) This link opens in a new windowIncludes newspaper articles from nearly 1,000 newspaper titles published in mainland China since 2000.
- People's Daily (1946-Present) This link opens in a new windowPeople's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It has been the official voice of the Chinese government and the Communist Party of China since 1946.
2 users access.
Government Information & Statistics
Many of the Chinese government websites are deemed insecure with only "http" URL connections. Search for these independently on the internet.
- The Central People's Government of the People's Republic of ChinaGov.cn, the official web portal of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China.
- National Bureau of Statistics of ChinaIn English
- Ministry of Commerce of the People's Republic of China
- Ministry of Commerce, PRC - Doing Business in ChinaLinks to Doing Business in China by regions and/or city.
- Ministry of Finance of the People's Republic of China
- Ministry of Industry & Information TechnologyIn English
- The State Council, People's Republic of China - Made in China, 2025A Chinese initiative launched in 2015 to advance the country's manufacturing value chain and increase local production
- People's Bank of ChinaIn English
- Embassy of the People's Republic of China - Washington D.C.
- The Consulate General of the People's Republic of China - Los Angeles
- China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical data published by the mainland Chinese government at all levels from 1949 to the present.
Country Risk Reports
- AM Best Country Risk - Public WebsiteAM Best is a full-service credit rating organization serving the insurance industry. Select country to download reports.
- Coface - Public WebsiteCoface is a trade receivables consulting firm and provides risk analysis by country.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIf you search under the Publications tab for POLITICAL RISK YEARBOOK, you will find links to the PRS Risk Reports for countries around the world.
- Global Risks ReportPublished annually by the World Economic Forum. Tracks global risk perceptions among world leaders across economic, environmental, geopolitical, societal, and technological factors
- International Institute for Management Development – World Competitiveness Rankingscomprehensive annual report and worldwide reference point on the competitiveness of countries
- Allianz Trade Country Reportseconomic analysis and risk ratings from a leading trade credit insurance company.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new windowRisk guides from PRS Group International can be accessed via LexisNexis Academic on the Easy Search page. In the lower left corner, you will see a box called RESEARCH COUNTRIES. Select your country from the dropdown box and then select PRS RISK GUIDE & SERVICE and a date range (6 months is recommended) and click GO. Scan through the results for reports specifically on your country. Not every country will have a risk report.
Country Information - Public Websites
- The Economist: ChinaCurrent news articles and blogs
- Export.gov: China Country Commercial GuideData collected by the U.S. Commercial Service providing trade counseling, market intelligence, trade promotion opportunities and trade advocacy
- GlobalEdge - ChinaMichigan State University web portal containing a variety of statistical, governmental, and business links.
- Index of Economic Freedom: ChinaPublished annually by the Heritage Foundation.
- McKinsey & Company - Greater ChinaArticles, reports and podcasts
- World Bank: Doing Buiness in China2020 guide is the most recent edition available
Other Sources and Links
- China Business Climate SurveyPublished annually by the American Chamber of Commerce - China (AmCham-China)
- China Economic MonitorQuarterly reports published by KPMG.
- Rand Center for Asia Pacific PolicyNot limited to China
- Made in China, 2025: global ambitions built on local projectionsA 2017 report from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce in response to the 2015 initiative launched by the Chinese state government
- China Internet Network Information Center (CNNIC)Contains extensive information on connectivity, infrastructure, online activity and e-commerce
- BRICs and BeyondA 2007 Goldman Sachs report; China content on pf. 45+.
- Asian Economic Integration ReportsSemi-annual report published by the Asian Development Bank
- U.S. Census Foreign Trade: Trade in Goods with ChinaMonthly data going back to 1985
- OEC: China trade statisticsData from the Observatory of Economic Complexity at MIT
- Doing Business in ChinaA 2021 guide from Cuatrecasas
- Doing Business in ChinaA 2020 guide from Deloitte
- China 100, 2021Annual report on the most valuable Chinese brands ranked by Brand Finance