This is the "Tests & Measurements" page of the "Tests & Measurements" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tests & Measurements   Tags: clinical, education, measures, psychology, reference, social_services, social_work, tests  

This guide is intended to introduce users to the basic procedures and sources available to locate psychological tests and measures.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2011 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/tests_measures Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Tests & Measurements Print Page
  Search: 
 

Free Online Tests

This following list is for informational purposes only. USC does not endorse, evaluate, or support any of the following tests or websites.

  • Addictiveness: Phelps-Nourse Addictiveness Test
    Starts out asking about sugar intake and moves on to signs of depression of alcohol abuse, ends up giving you a score which indicates your addictive potential.
  • Alienation Test
    By C. George Boeree. 30-item test measures a person's sense of meaninglessness and estrangement from work and society.
  • Attachment Style Questionnaire
    "Experiences in Close Relationships" questionnaire diagnoses your attachment style. After completing the test you get a good discussion of its implications with links for finding out more.
  • Defensive Pessimism Questionnaire
    "Defensive pessimists lower their expectations to help prepare themselves for the worst. Then they mentally play through all the bad things that might happen. Though it sounds as if it might be depressing, defensive pessimism actually helps anxious people focus away from their emotions so that they can plan and act effectively."
  • Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance
    Mental Health Screening Center
  • Depression Screening Test: National Mental Health Association
    A quick, confidential, totally transparent test for symptoms of depression.
  • Emotional Intelligence: Turknett Leadership Group Emotional Intelligence Quiz
    Asks about how you relate to others and your organization, then gives you feedback about your virtues or how you might have to adjust your behavior in leadership situations. Compares your results to group averages.
  • Goldberg Depression Inventory
    "This scale is not designed to make a diagnosis of depression or take the place of a professional diagnosis." But it does tell you the extent to which you report symptoms typical of depression.
  • Goldberg Mania Quiz
    Use this brief, time-saving questionnaire to help you determine
    if you may need to see a mental health professional for diagnosis
    and treatment of mania or manic-depression or bipolar disorder,
    or for tracking your mania on a regular basis.
  • Jasper/Goldberg Adult ADD Questionnaire
    Use this questionnaire to help determine if you need to see a mental health professional for diagnosis and treatment of ADD or ADHD in an adult.
  • Mental Health -Psychology Tests
    Mental Health Today's list of online tests.
  • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Screening Quiz
    Use this brief screening measure to help you determine
    if you might need to see a mental health professional for diagnosis and treatment of OCD (obsessive-compulsive disorder).
  • State Anxiety Inventory
    Aimed at assessing a person's current state, not a lasting trait, therefore ostensibly it is more useful for before-and-after comparisons in therapy research.
  • The Computer Anxiety Scale
    The Computer Anxiety Scale is a 16 item questionnaire that measures amount of computer anxiety.
  • The Henderson/Zimbardo Shyness Questionnaire
    Find your "ShyQ" or how shy you are. Results are provided immediately and compared with aggregated data from web participants.
  • The Locus of Control
    The Locus of Control is a 13 item questionnaire developed by Rotter (1966). It measures generalized expectancies for internal versus external control of reinforcement. People with an internal locus of control believe that their own actions determine the rewards that they obtain, while those with an external locus of control believe that their own behavior doesn't matter much and that rewards in life are generally outside of their control.
  


 

Start here: Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Use Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) to find reviews of testing instruments

The records you find in MMY do not include the actual test. It only lists: name of test, purpose, population, publisher and the yearbook # where you can find the review of the test. 

To purchase or obtain the actual test materials, you will need to contact the test publisher(s).

About Measurement Tools

USC has many resources for identifying testing and measurement tools. Most tests are copyrighted and can only be purchased from the publisher. Sometimes you can view a test because it has been published in a journal article or dissertation. Researchers and students may not photocopy and use proprietary tests from these sources. If you are looking for a measurement tool to use it is recommended to consider the cost. If you are trying to view a measurement tool try typing the name in  ProQuest Dissertations and Theses-Full Text. Then look at the appendices to see if they have included the measurement tool.

  • Testing and Measurement Tools Lecture
    Library resources for tests and tests reviews
    How to evaluate measurement tools and read outputs for reliability and validity testing
    Practical advice for using measurement tools in your research

Database Sources: Tests & Measurements

  • Health & Psychosocial Instruments
    Information on questionnaires, tests, rating scales, and other measurements in nursing, health, and semantics. Also includes linguistics. Click on "start Ovid," then 'continue,' then select "Health and Psychosocial Instruments"
  • PsycCRITIQUES
    This database includes a searchable database of more than 38,000 reviews, dating back to 1956, plus tables of contents for recent weekly releases. More than 900 reviews are published annually.
  • PsycINFO
    Select the "tests & measurements" field in advanced search
  • PsycTESTS
    A repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests.
  • PsycTHERAPY
    A database of streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos; users may create playlists, clips, search transcripts of videos, and more.
  • Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
    SSEDL is a subscription-based data archive created by the Sociometrics Corporation, a for-profit research and development firm. The collection includes over 270 health and social science studies (600 datasets) originally funded by the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation and primarily spanning the late 1970s to early 2000s with some more recent acquisitions. Collections cover AIDS, adolescent pregnancy, aging, the American family, child poverty, alternative medicin
 

Reference: Tests & Measures

Cover Art
Assessing psychological trauma and PTSD
Call Number: Leavey Library Reserves RC552.P67A85 2004

Cover Art
Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area BF176.5.D53 2002

Cover Art
Dictionary of psychological testing, assessment and treatment
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area RC552.P67A85 2004

Cover Art
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area BF431.G625

Cover Art
Handbook of measurement issues in family research
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area HQ10.H24 2007

Cover Art
Handbook of multicultural assessment: Clinical, psychological, and educational applications
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area BF176.H36 2008

Cover Art
Handbook of psychiatric measures
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area P78A46 2008

Cover Art
Measures for clinical practice and research: a sourcebook
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area BF176.C66 2007

Cover Art
Measuring change in counseling and psychotherapy
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area RC469.M428 2008

USC Test Collection
Call Number: Doheny Library Reference, Test Collection Area

  


DSM


  • DSM-V Development
    Publication of the fifth edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) in May 2013 will mark one the most anticipated events in the mental health field. As part of the development process, the preliminary draft revisions to the current diagnostic criteria for psychiatric diagnoses are now available for public review. We thank you for your interest in DSM-5 and hope that you use this opportunity not only to learn more about the proposed changes in DSM-5, but also about
  • DSM-IV
    Psychiatric Diagnoses are categorized by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th. Edition. Better known as the DSM-IV, the manual is published by the American Psychiatric Association and covers all mental health disorders for both children and adults. It also lists known causes of these disorders, statistics in terms of gender, age at onset, and prognosis as well as some research concerning the optimal treatment approaches.
  • Index of Psychiatric Disorders
 

Testing & Measurement Slides

Testing & Measurement Tools Lecture

  


* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip