Human and Evolutionary BiologyKinesiologyMarine Environmental BiologyMolecular BiologyNeurobiologyPublic HealthHealth Sciences for Undergraduates
This is the "Home" page of the "Life Sciences*" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Life Sciences*  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2015 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/biology-lifesciences Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Reference / research help
  Research consultation
            * Subject Specialist Michael Qiu
                               
            * Science & Engineering Reference
                             Desk (213) 740-4416        
 
  E-assistance: Ask-A-Librarian

Science & Engineering Library

  • Science & Engineering Library website
  • Hours
    The reference desk is staffed from 1 until 4, Monday through Thursday afternoons, during the fall & spring semesters. Librarians are available other times for one-on-one or group consultations.

Life Sciences: Getting Started

Two Databases specifically for the broad scope of life sciences:
Biosis Citation Index

* World's most comprehensive database for life sciences.

Zoological Record
* Indexes more than 5,000 serials, as well as books, conferences, and reports.


Other Databases, but still excellent for life sciences:
MEDLINE (Ovid)
* Over 3,900 journals in the medical sciences; much is pertinent to general life sciences.
PubMed@USC
* Version of Medline linked to USC paid resources, if you wish to use this version of MEDLINE.
SciFinder
* World's most comprehensive chemistry database; much is pertinent to life sciences.
ProQuest Research Library
*
Multi-disciplinary, covers dozens of subject areas, including life sciences.
* Indexes thousands of general and scholarly journals; much is full-text.
* An excellent starting place, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin
one's research.
Web of Science
*Part of the Web of Knowledge gateway.
*Especially strong in citation tracking.
Illustrata Natural Sciences
* A unique database that allows searching of tables and charts within journal articles, primarily from 2000 to date.

For more databases, see

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Michael Qiu
Contact Info
Science and Engineering Library
SSL 101
Phone: 213.740.2214
Email: qium@usc.edu
Send Email
* Asterisk in guide title indicates core subject guide
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip