Combined Databases
These sources allow you to search multiple Social Work-related databases at once.
- EBSCOhost Select "Chose databases" to search: Abstracts in Social Gerontology, Alt HealthWatch, Family Studies Abstracts, LGBT Life, Public Administration Abstracts, Social Work Abstracts, Urban Studies Abstracts, Violence & Abuse Abstracts, and more.
- CSA Illumina Select "specific databases" to do a combined search of ERIC, PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts and other databases.
Primary Social Work Research Databases
If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to log into the remote access portal with your USC email ID and password. For assistance locating articles, see how to locate an article.
- ProQuest Databases of resources for arts, business, humanities, social sciences, science and newspaper resources. Includes Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Dissertations & Thesis.
- Academic OneFile Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP. Includes abstracts or references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications.
- Social Work Abstracts Homelessness, child/family welfare, AIDs, aging, substance abuse, community organization. Available through ESBCOhost.
- Social Services Abstracts Social work/welfare, human services, social policy, community development. Available through CSA Illumina.
- Google Scholar
Secondary Social Work Databases: Social Sciences
- PsycINFO Psychology abstracts. Available through CSA Illumina.
- Sociological Abstracts Abstracts in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Available through CSA Illumina.
- ERIC Educational Resources Information Center. Bibliography of educational materials available since 1966. Available through CSA Illumina.
- AGELINE Provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Database produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP).
- Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare.
- JSTOR Archive of core social science, humanities, and science journals. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.
- Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) Includes Social Sciences Citation Index.
- LexisNexis Academic Database of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources.
Secondary Social Work Databases: Health and Medicine
- CINAHL This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane Library Evidence-based medicine databases including: Cochrane Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Health Technology Assessment Database, and others.
- National Rehabilitation Information Center,
- OVID Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Primarily health sciences topics. Contains citations from more than 3,900 English and foreign language journals in the basic and clinical sciences. Includes Evidence Based Medicine Reviews.
- PILOTS Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. Available through CSA Illumina.
- PubMed Provides access to the MEDLINE database.
- Web of Science
Journals Available Online
List of Social Work and Social Welfare journals available online:






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait