Libwire News
Specialized news from Libwire related to Chicano, Latino and Latin American studies and Spanish and Portuguese.
Latino News & Blogs
NPR Latino USA News
Podcasts --click on the episode you wish to listen to. On the next page that appears, click on the word podcasts to activate the program.
Loading...
Introduction
Welcome to the guide to information on Chicano and Latino studies!
This guide offers an overview of the specialized research resources at USC on Chicanos, Latinos and other U.S. Hispanics. It also supports the University's undergraduate and graduate Chicano/Latino Studies program, a multidisciplinary program designed to provide students with a critical understanding of the historical, cultural, social, and political experience of Chicanos and Latinos, with a particular emphasis on the development and culture of the Chicano/Latino communities in California and the West, as well as on both historical and contemporary effects of global issues on Chicano/Latino communities.
For questions or an appointment with the subject librarian contact brobinso@usc.edu
Tips for getting started: Key Databases
Top databases for locating information on Chicano, Latinos and Hispanics in the US.
- Chicano DatabaseA major bibliographic database for topics in the humanities and social and behavioral sciences on Mexican Americans and Chicano and Latino Studies
- Credo ReferenceSee these fulltext sources which are available throught this link to the Credo General Reference collection:
--The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
--The Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S. - HAPI Online: The Database of Hispanic American Journal ArticlesContains core journals in the humanities and social sciences from and about Latin America and related to Chicano and Latino studies. Some fulltext.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980From Readex Newsbank, this collection contains many Spanish language newspapers from 22 states in the United States. Searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title.
- LANIC: Hispanic/Latino Internet ResourcesA major portal with links to a wide range of information on US Hispanics and Chicano and Latino Studies.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and FictionMost comprehensive database in this field, with more than 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry representing 20th c. Chicano and Latin American writers working in the United States. Represents Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cubans, Argentineans, Dominicans, and Central Americans.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesCovers the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles on identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
Librarian, Chicano & Latino Studies |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
