Installing LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad browser extension gives you fast, one-click access to scholarly articles. When you landed on a journal publisher's website either from a link another scholar shared with you or from sources like Google, Libkey Nomad would help you authenticated with the publisher and grant you access to the full text.
Installing LibKey Nomad
1. Download
Go to https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/. Read the privacy policy.
Download the LibKey nomad by selecting the browser(s) you would be using. Follow all the prompts from your browser.
2. Configure
Once installed, LibKey nomad will prompt you to select institution. Select University of Southern California from the drop-down menu.
Below is a video demonstration on LibKey Nomad installation.
Databases
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowFind data and full-text articles and patents on chemicals and chemical compounds, including properties, reactions, and structures.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- Cambridge Structural DatabaseCSD is the world’s leading repository of small organic and metal-organic crystal structures with over 500,000 x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses.
USC subscribes both to the online web version and desktop version for Windows, Mac OS, and Linux. The majority of users will be best served by using the web version of CSD, but if your research requires an offline, desktop version of CSD, please contact the Chemistry Librarian, Jane Lah - jlah@usc.edu, for more information.
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD) This link opens in a new windowICSD is the world's largest inorganic crystal database with over 169,000 entries dating back to 1913.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowFind data and full-text articles and patents on chemicals and chemical compounds, including properties, reactions, and structures.
- Spectral Databases for Organic Compounds (SDBS)Spectra for over 33,000 organic compounds, mostly FT-IR, MS, 13C-NMR and H-NMR.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search across 3 large engineering databases, or select a single database to search. Includes articles, patents, conference proceedings, in all areas of engineering and applied sciences.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccessScience contains various resources in science and technology: the unabridged McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and much more.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides access to authoritative and regularly updated engineering reference information.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of medical textbooks, board review books and clinical support books. In addition, there are self-assessment modules with case studies and multiple choice questions. Good for study and review of basic medical topics.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowTextbooks, drug monographs, quizzes, flashcards, videos, cases, and calculators, selected for relevance to Pharmacy education.
- Thieme Pharmaceutical Substances This link opens in a new windowReference information relating to the industrial synthesis and commercial applications of every licensed drug of significance. It provides ready access to syntheses, patents, and applications for more than 2,600 active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs), including intermediates from the six most important markets.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowDatabase of dissertations and theses, including more than 1 million available full-text (PDF).
Finding Patents and Trademarks
- Patents and Trademarks Research GuideInformation on finding patents and trademarks from the United States and across the globe.