Cassady Lewis Carroll Collection: Search the collection

A collection of nearly 3,000 rare books, manuscripts and objects created by or about beloved children’s literature author, mathematician and writer Charles Dodgson, better known by his pen name Lewis Carroll.

Tips

Most materials in the Cassady collection are searchable via the catalog search box on the USC Libraries gateway page. The exception is the Wonderland Award archive which is searchable in a finding aid like our many other archival collections. In both cases, you can request materials online through your Aeon account directly from the catalog or finding aid. Please, feel free to contact the curator for assistance with this process. Consider downloading a copy of the Cassady Lewis Carroll collection bibliography in PDF format. NOTE: download the file to your computer and open with Adobe Acrobat to use the Table of Contents for easy navigation. Digitized materials from the collection are available at the USC Digital Library.

 
Bibliography: The Cassady Lewis Carroll Collection at USC (Flip Book)
Bibliography: The Cassady Lewis Carroll Collection at USC (PDF) (NOTE: download the file to your computer and open with Adobe Acrobat to use the Table of Contents for easy navigation).
Wonderland Award finding aid

WorldCat Search: Searching Libraries in the U.S., Canada, and Overseas

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

How to search the Cassady collection & request items

  1. Go to http://aeon.usc.edu/
  2. Log in or set up a new account if you don't have one.
  3. Visit USC Libraries online catalog
  4. Do an Advanced Search including the phrase "cassady collection."
  5. Choose "special collections" as the library.
  6. You can further limit your search by title, author, publisher, language, etc.
  7. Select an item by clicking on it.
  8. To request materials, click "request this item" to the right of the call number.
  9. You may be asked to sign into Aeon at this point.
  10. Fill out form, including the date you'd like to visit.
  11. Submit form, and your request is completed.
  12. Log in to see the status of your request. If the status is "Item on hold," the materials are ready.

How to search the Wonderland Award archive & request items

  1. Go to http://aeon.usc.edu/
  2. Log in or set up a new account if you don't have one.
  3. Under "New request" at the left, click on "finding aids / USC Libraries."
  4. search "wonderland" in the search box
  5. Select "collection" under the "type" menu at the left.
  6. Click on "Wonderland Award Submissions collection."
  7. Scroll down, search in the "search components" box (ie: music, art, etc) or browse by year.
  8. Choose item by clicking on it.
  9. Click the yellow button "Request materials" at top left
  10. Fill out the form, including the date you'd like to visit.
  11. Submit form, and your request has been completed.
  12. Log in to see the status of your request. If the status is "Item on hold," the materials are ready.
During the spring semester, copies of all Wonderland Award submissions and artist statements are kept in "the red boxes" in the Horton Reading Room for patrons to browse by genre. These are available upon request any other time of year.