Research Guides: SOWK 627: Policy and Macro Practice in Child, Youth and Family Services: Finding Scholarly Articles

Article Databases

The databases below cover more specific subjects. Look at the database descriptions to help you select the best database for your topic. For example, PsycINFO covers mental and behavioral health, and would be good for articles about interventions or depression. Use our A-Z database list to find more databases beyond common social work topics.

AGELINE This link opens in a new window
Content focus on social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Includes abstracts of over 200 academic journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations from 1978 to present.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes all issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 to 2001, previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, and new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. It includes more than 417,000 records with over 18,000 new records added each year.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Family Studies Abstracts (available through EBSCOhost) includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains over 45,000 records.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations. Disciplines include athletics, health, law, sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, employment and entertainment.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Database of dissertations and theses, including more than 1 million available full-text (PDF).
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO.
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
ProQuest Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, it provides abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more, including full-text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Formerly PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, PTSDpubs is produced at the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, with the goal of including citations to all literature on PTSD and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage from 1871 to present day, updated monthly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Limit your search to 'free full-text' to find items freely available without subscriptions.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstract database of social work literature from 1977 to present. Topics include homelessness, child and family welfare, AIDs, aging, substance abuse, community organization, and more.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Violence & Abuse Abstracts (available through EBSCOhost) includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
The index contains 35,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Filtered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly articles, abstracts and working papers in the social sciences including many Marshall faculty.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students.
It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.

Scholarly Journals

Look up the top ranked journals in Social Work according to Web of Science Journal Citation Reports

In the database, Journal Citation Reports - select Browse Categories. Then select the tab Journal Ranks, and use the filters on the left to select the subject.

The selected journals below include scholarly, peer-reviewed social work research. You can access other journals on the USC Libraries website by using the Journals search. Under FIND, select Journals.

Clinical Social Work
peer-reviewed original articles relevant to contemporary clinical practice with individuals, couples, families, and groups.
Intersectionalities
peer-reviewed, open access journal sponsored by Memorial University's School of Social Work. The journal is international in scope, and publishes articles relating to social work analysis, research, polity, and practice.
Journal for Society of Social Work and Research
peer-reviewed publication dedicated to presenting rigorous, original research on social problems, programs, and policies.
Journal of LGBT issues in Counseling
"The Journal of LGBT Issues in Counseling is the national, peer-refereed journal affiliated with the Society for Sexual, Affectional, Intersex, and Gender Expansive Identities, a division of the American Counseling Association. The journal publishes manuscripts that report cutting-edge empirical research, best practices, and emerging trends and issues focused on counseling the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, asexual ally, pansexual, or other sexual minority communities at all developmental stages of life "
Journal of Policy Practice
Research on policy practice, and social policy.
Journal of Social Service Research
Empirical research and its application to the design, delivery, and management of the new social services.
Journal of Social Work
The Journal of Social Work is a forum for the publication, dissemination and debate of key ideas and research in social work.
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice
publishes articles on psychological assessment, treatment, and practice implications.
Psychology and Sexuality
"Psychology & Sexuality is an international journal which publishes high quality quantitative and qualitative psychological research on sexualities. The journal aims to advance knowledge and understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, heterosexual and queer issues in psychology and allied disciplines."
Qualitative Social Work
The journal promotes exchange and conversation on the nature of reflective inquiry and practice, emerging applications of critical realism in social work, the potential of social constructionist and narrative approaches to research and practice.
Research on Social Work Practice
bi-monthly, disciplinary journal devoted to the publication of empirical research concerning the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice.
Social Science Research
Social Science Research publishes papers devoted to quantitative social science research and methodology.
Social Work Research
A journal of the National Association of the Social Workers.